In November, community members made an impassioned plea to council chiefs and politicians after suffering flood devastation.

Residents gathered at Sandycroft community centre for a heated public meeting to discuss the recent flooding during Storm Babet which badly affected the village.

And it was reported that Flintshire Council sought to develop a new strategy to improve recycling rates - as it risked facing a hefty fine for not meeting targets.

Wrexham AFC’s bid to open the new Kop stand to full capacity when built was refused by the local authority.

The Leader: A decision notice had been issued by Wrexham Council on the club’s application to vary planning conditions, which limited the planned 5,500-seat stand to a capacity of 4,900.

Members of the community gathered to release balloons into the sky in a touching tribute to a much-loved footballer.

The Mostyn community was left completely heartbroken following the death of Kai Davies, 22. 

Kai’s friends and family gathered in his memory to release balloons into the sky near the Mostyn shops.

The Leader: A councillor in Wrexham called for answers after not having a bin collection for about 10 weeks.

Cllr Jon Jolley, of the Smithfield ward, Wrexham said he had not had his bins collected since council workers went on strike.

The industrial action undertaken by council workers lasted seven weeks before an agreement finally came.

A campaigner implored residents of North Wales and beyond to get behind an effort to tackle knife crime.

The Leader: Edwin Duggan's plea to the public came as the deadline on his petition to create a dedicated Minister for Knife Crime Prevention loomed.

Wrexham MP Sarah Atherton slammed the local authority for “overt politicisation” after she wasn’t formally invited to the Armistice Day service. 

Mrs Atherton publicised a letter she sent to Wrexham Council’s chief executive Ian Bancroft following the service.

In it she said, while being invited to attend as a member of the public, she hadn’t been formally invited to attend as the area’s Member of Parliament.