The Leader Education Awards took place on March 22, at Soughton Hall, near Mold, hosted by ITV Wales presenter Andrea Byrne.

Over the past few years, the coronavirus pandemic has resulted in many events having to be postponed or cancelled but we believe that now - more than ever - we should continue to celebrate everything that's great in the region.

And that means highlighting the brilliant work carried out by our dedicated teachers and everyone involved in education in Wrexham and Flintshire, as well as shining a spotlight on innovation and best practice across the area.

READ MORE: Leader Education Awards 2023 celebrates excellence in Wrexham and Flintshire schools

The education awards also recognised the outstanding achievements of pupils and students, including those who may have overcome the odds or battled adversity over the last 12 months to succeed in their studies or extracurricular activities.

Over 160 guests attended made up of shortlisted teachers, teaching assistants, support staff, pupils as well as their proud family members.

Check out our gallery from the evening above!

The winners for the 13 categories were:

Primary Pupil of the Year: Violet Edge - St Mary’s Catholic Primary, Wrexham; Owain Probert – All Saints Primary School, Gresford and Tyra Buffey - Ysgol Y Waun, Chirk.

Primary School Teacher of the Year: Sally Hughes, Holt C.P School, Holt.

Primary School of the Year: Gwersyllt Community Primary School

Secondary School Pupil of the Year: Macie Leigh - Flint High School

Secondary School Teacher of the Year: Jennifer Sidwells – Ysgol Maes Garmon, Mold

Secondary School of the Year: Ysgol Rhiwabon, Wrexham

Early Years Education Award: Playland Day Nursery, Wrexham

Support Worker of the Year: Maxine Roberts – Argoed High School, Buckley

Teaching Assistant of the Year:  Jessica Mayos- Victoria CP Primary School, Wrexham

New Teacher of the Year: Taylor Burns, Ysgol Treffynnon, Holywell

Head Teacher of the Year: Adele Slinn, Ysgol Bryn Alyn, Wrexham

School Collaboration Award: Dewi Wyn Hughes, Headteacher - Ysgol Gwynedd, Flint

Lifetime Achievement Award: Christine Johnson, Ysgol Gwynedd, Flint

  • Don't miss The Leader Education Awards 2023 supplement - out on March 30.