The inaugural Leader Education Awards 2023 recognised the outstanding achievements of pupils, teachers and support staff in schools across Wrexham and Flintshire.

The awards ceremony took place on March 22 at Soughton Hall, near Mold, hosted by ITV Wales presenter Andrea Byrne.

Over 160 guests attended made up of shortlisted teachers, teaching assistants, support staff, pupils as well as their proud family members.

Mold drama group, Theatre Train, opened the awards with an exciting and entertaining musical performance.

Susan Perry, Regional Editor, North Wales, then thanked the nominees for all their hard work and dedication.

The Leader:

She said: “It has been truly inspiring and humbling to read all the incredible nominations. Through your great lessons, you open up new worlds for students.”

The headline sponsor for the event was Excell Supply and Marketing Manager for Excell, Gavyn Edwards said: “It’s an honour to be surrounded by so many talented individuals who are dedicated to shaping the future of education in the region.”

Mr Edwards reflected on the challenges that the pandemic as well as teaching strikes for working conditions has posed for the education sector.

He said: “Despite these challenges you have shown remarkable resilience, commitment and determination going above and beyond for the students.”

READ MORE: Excellence in education: Why schools in Wrexham and Flintshire deserve recognition

Host for the evening, ITV Wales presenter Andrea Bryne said: “I have a young daughter currently starting out in the school system and after hearing all of these truly inspirational stories from this evening I can confidently say she is in safe hands."

Leader community content editor Claire Pierce has been sharing stories from schools across the region since 2020.

She said: “Every entry for these awards could have been a winner. The positive impact of a school and its community, both staff and students, cannot be underestimated.

“The evening itself was incredibly uplifting. Our winners were humble in their acceptance but their passion shone bright.

“It was a real privilege to have been a part of these inaugural awards.”

The winners for the 13 categories were:

Primary Pupil of the Year: Violet Edge - St Mary’s Catholic Primary, Wrexham; Owain Probert – All Saints Primary School, Gresford and Tyra Buffey - Ysgol Y Waun, Chirk.

Primary School Teacher of the Year: Sally Hughes, Holt C.P School, Holt.

Primary School of the Year: Gwersyllt Community Primary School

Secondary School Pupil of the Year: Macie Leigh - Flint High School

Secondary School Teacher of the Year: Jennifer Sidwells – Ysgol Maes Garmon, Mold

Secondary School of the Year: Ysgol Rhiwabon, Wrexham

Early Years Education Award: Playland Day Nursery, Wrexham

Support Worker of the Year: Maxine Roberts – Argoed High School, Buckley

Teaching Assistant of the Year:  Jessica Mayos- Victoria CP Primary School, Wrexham

New Teacher of the Year: Taylor Burns, Ysgol Treffynnon, Holywell

Head Teacher of the Year: Adele Slinn, Ysgol Bryn Alyn, Wrexham

School Collaboration Award: Dewi Wyn Hughes, Headteacher - Ysgol Gwynedd, Flint

Lifetime Achievement Award: Christine Johnson, Ysgol Gwynedd, Flint

  • Don't miss The Leader Education Awards 2023 supplement - out on March 30.