MOLD C and Flint Phoenix A will battle it out in the final of North East Wales Badminton League Challenge Cup.

The first semi-final saw Mold C get the better of Hawarden on points in a terrific tie finished 8-8, Shamanth Moodalbyle and Chris Preston joint players of the match for the eventual winners.

Moodalbyle and James Maddocks combined at first men's to halve one of the best matches of the night against Will Toomey and Jake Jones 18/21, 21/15.

Phoenix A enjoyed an easier passage to the final as they defeated Llanferres A 14-2. Matt Sprake and Carla White were in scintillating form for Flint, cruising to a 21/2, 21/3 success over Jane and Tom Givelin at first mixed.

Flint Phoenix C are also chasing silverware after they beat Prestatyn A 13-3 to reach the Challenge Cup Plate final.

The undefeated Gwenda Moorcroft starred for Flint, and with Ro Spence, the duo beat Jane Hodgson and Claire Atmore 21/16, 21/13 at second ladies.

Phoenix C will face Denbigh A in the final after they overcame Buckley 11-4.

Beki Hutt and Bev Dolman were amongst the Denbigh winners, beating Caren Price and Charlotte Ince, 21/15, 21/13.

In league action, Flint Phoenix A consolidated their place at the top of Division One with a 7-1 success over Rossett A.

Jo Sanderson and Toyoko Cornelius were the only Rossett winners, beating Zoe Moorcroft and Holly Gill, 21/10, 21/13.

Deeside made the trip to play Denbigh A two players short and went on to lose 7-1.

The Flintshire side's only win came courtesy of Dan Taylor and Henry Carrington, who dug deep to beat Richard Elston and Wayne Cooper 21/12, 21/10.

Division Two leaders Eros continued their unbeaten run in style as they thumped Buckley 8-0 and Hawarden 6-2.

Ellen Liddle and Heather Astley combined well at first ladies to get the better of Buckley duo Alison Ince and Chris Dailey, 21/6, 21/7, while Fiona Reid and Sheila Palmer slipped to a 23/21, 23/21 defeat against Hawarden's Diane Fardoe and Louise Cothier.

Entries to the Senior League’s Annual Handicap Tournament at Deeside Leisure Centre on Sunday, April 7 are being accepted with forms available from club secretaries or