QUEEN’S PARK boss Dave Evans lifted the Premier Division title last season but knows any one of five teams are threatening to take that crown away from his club this time around, writes PHIL JONES.

Park entertain Plas Madoc, who went through the whole campaign unbeaten on their way to winning the Division One title and Evans knows it won’t be easy.

“The quality and number of teams that seemed to have improved over the close season is unbelievable,” said Evans.

“This could genuinely be a five-way race for the title.

“Despite losing Corey Smart you can not do any better business than to pull in Barry Torrence. Although we had the league’s tightest defence we have also added Jason Edwards and Andrew Elms.

“In midfield we have brought in Josh Philips who is a player I have worked closely in the Army over a number of years so I know all about his qualities and how to get the best out of him.”

Last season’s top scorer Mikey Latham misses out for Park while Plas Madoc are likely to be without their leading marksman Nicky Williams. Liam Sklenar, Shaun Valentine, Ramone Nelson and Marcus Davies also miss out.

Mold Alex chief Mike Cunningham has been busy in the summer and could hand debuts to Rich Sanna, Lewis George and Matty Pierce for tonight’s home game against Llay Welfare.

Ben Howarth, Matty Roberts and Nath Lavender all miss out but Ryan Coney is in the squad.

Dean Bryan, Liam Hughes and Jared Taylor are all out for Llay, who will have Adam Colley, Ryan Goodband, Will Roberts and Aled Roberts all lined up to start.

“It is going to be a tough season with everyone looking so strong,” said Llay boss Mike Gadie.

The other game tonight is at Holyhead Road where Chirk AAA host Penycae. Chirk head into to the game after being beaten 3-2 by Mynydd Isa Spartans in the first round of the North East Wales FA Cup. Chris Lane, Mike Whales and Kieran Jones got the Isa goals.

Rhostyllen have brought in Warren Duckett as their new manager and with an abundance of top flight experience at Bala Town and Cefn Druids and he has signed Aaron Edwards, Alastair Gibson and James Trigg with all three expected to feature at Saltney Town tomorrow.

Following the defeat to Queen’s Park in the Presidents cup, Cefn Albion welcome back a host of key players who missed their game at Brickfield Rangers.

Dion Gibbons, Kien Morris, Jordan Jones, Josh Valentine, Aaron Holman and Callum Mannion return but Jimmy Jones and Danny Holland are ruled out.

Nicky Chester, Matty Harrison and ex-Wrexham keeper Dave Walsh start for Brickfield.

Rhos Aelwyd travel to Llanuwchllyn. Kian Davies will make his debut but Jake Simms is suspended while twins Aled and Dafydd Robertson and Ryan Jenkins are all unavailable.

Sam Evans, Paul Jones, Oli Crimp and Tommy Davies are the new faces at Llanuwchllyn, who have managed to hang on to star man Joe Evans.

Castell Alun make their Premier Division debut but they’ll be without defender Keith Ward. Matty Sutherland and Jack Carden are set to make their debuts.

They host Brymbo, who have brought in Sam Toy, Erhan Hyusmen, Cam Meadows and Ethan Snell. Lewis Clarke and Ryan Clarke are ruled out.

Alun routed Rhosllanurhugog 6-0 in the NEWFA Cup with Nathan Davies scoring four. Scott Williams and Sutherland also netted.

Harrison also scored four for Brickfield in a 6-0 win against Cefn Mawr Rangers. Matty Tombs and Andy Vale were also on the scoresheet.

Brymbo battered Lex XI thanks to Ben Kearney (3), Billy New (2), Jake Clark and Jack Ford.

Plas Madoc needed extra time to win 4-2 at Halkyn and Flint Mountain with efforts from Jamie Williams, Craig Roberts, Jordan Powell and Mikey Jones. Pete Martin and Dafydd Warkyz replied.

Tonight’s Reserves Division fixtures: Corwen v Cefn Druids; Holywell v Gresford; Llay v Castell Alun. Tomorrow: Hawarden v Ruthin; Mold Alex v Buckley; Penycae v Queen’s Park; Rhos Aelwyd v Brickfield.

Reserves and Colts Division: Brymbo v Bala; Cefn Mawr Rgrs v Airbus; Connah’s Quay v Llangollen; Johnstown v Ruthin; Mynydd Isa v Coedpoeth; Overton v Saltney; Rhydymwyn v Cefn Alb.