A SWIFT return to Division One could be in store for a pair of clubs.

Marchwiel and Wrexham were relegated alongside Llay last season, but promising runs mean they occupy the top-two spots in Division Two.

Llay maintained their good form with a 75-run triumph at home to St Asaph Seconds.

Joe Howell (76), Tom Parry (64 not out) and David Phennah (34) helped Llay to 203 for six, while the Saints were all out for 128 (Andy Mearns 46, Jacob Roberts 3-10, Jack Edwards 3-24).

It was also a 75-run win as success at Carmel & District to keep Marchwiel and Wrexham clear at the top.

Sam Shoemark (57) and Darshana Sanjeewa (56) led the visitors to 202 for six and Danny Owens (46) was the leading scorer in Carmel’s 127 for nine (Muhammad Ghufran 3-17).

Bersham cracked 274 for five at Corwen. Sathyajith Ihalagama (145) and Hari Garikapogula (94 not out) put on 234 for the second wicket. Barry Morris took four for 58 for Corwen, who finished on 111 for nine (Amith Thilakarathne 4-13).

Gresford Seconds held their nerve to beat Menai Bridge Seconds by two wickets. Takmer Ali’s six for 22 return saw Bridge all out for 123 and Tomos Roberts’ unbeaten 40 was crucial in Gresford’s 124 for eight.

Pontblyddyn Seconds were all out for 46 at home to Llanrwst. Earlier in the day, Alwyn Williams hit 110 as Llanrwst amassed 190 (Christian Wrathall 3-39).

Elsewhere, Mochdre Seconds got the better of Bangor Seconds by 81 runs.

Hawarden Park Seconds’ Division Three promotion push continued with their 14-run triumph over Pwllheli.

Skipper Haseeb Hanif Bikya (39) led the way in Park’s 129 (Kalim Al Baloshi 5-30) and Pwllheli then ended up short on 115, despite Daniel Pigott’s unbeaten 38. Bikya (4-22) and Matthew Gentry (3-23) impressed for Hawarden Park.

Mold Seconds timed things extremely well to bag a six-wicket verdict at Denbigh Seconds, who initially set 197 for six (Gerallt Lyall 113, Chris Brown 48 not out, Keith Embleton 2-12, Rhys G Hughes 2-13). With an over to spare, Mold reached 198 for four (Louis Bolton 58, Hughes 53 not out).

Connah’s Quay Seconds prevailed by 25 runs at Gwersyllt Park Seconds, who were dismissed for 134 (James Collier 30, Matthew Dix 3-9, Rhys Jones 3-34).

Earlier in the day, lower order batsmen Phil Keidel (51) and Hashmat Safi (40) helped Quay to recover to 159 (Ryan McCarthy 4-14).

Buckley Seconds’ effort of 222 all out was enough for a victory versus Halkyn Seconds, who replied with 175 for six.

Leaders Ruthin made sure of a comprehensive 118-run win at Conwy Seconds after setting 218 for six.

Jac Evans cracked a sublime 131 not out for Ruthin. Conwy’s response finished up on 100 for five.

In Division Four, Marchwiel and Wrexham Seconds stay in the promotion positions via a 189-run success over Hawarden Park Thirds.

Nick Husbands (126 not out), Mike Lee (71) and Zahid Sharif (42) helped the hosts to amass 280 for four and Kenneth Evans (22) top scored in Park’s 91 (Ed Greening 5-17).

On a day of big wins, Bersham Seconds secured a 184-run verdict versus Dolgellau Seconds, who were all out for 22 (Sujeesh Vazhadan 5-12). Thushardath Ep (58) and Anooj Kesavan (40) had earlier helped Bersham to 206 for four.

Carmel & District Seconds lost out by 199 runs to Ruthin Seconds - and you’ve got to spare a thought for Ifan Hanifa!

He made 99 in Ruthin’s 255 for six (Steve Nash 2-29). Jonas Roberts (4-9) and Austin Manderson (3-19) were the chief wicket takers in Carmel’s 56.