BOWLERS turned out to be on top as Northop claimed a crucial Premier Division victory from their trip to Brymbo.

Following a wet week, it was Bart Ryan-Beswick’s side who claimed a five-wicket success, which saw them move into the top-three.

Brymbo were dismissed for 132 in the 49th over of their innings.

Mohamed Nilam Jayman (26) and Chris Taylor (25) were the leading scorers, as Romano Franco (3-17), Andy Poynton (2-12) and Elliot Colclough (2-24) impressed with the ball.

Thomas Hughes (52 not out) and Colclough (32) then helped Northop to a winning 133 for five (Sam Aplin 2-16).

Chasing also turned out to be beneficial to Gwersyllt Park in their three-wicket success at home to Gresford.

Chris Mullock’s knock of 40 was the highlight in Gresford’s initial 141 (Jake James 5-15).

Then, Cai Pearson’s unbeaten 42 proved pivotal in Park’s 142 for seven, after they had been struggling on 98 for seven. Simon Perry bagged 5-28 for Gresford.

In the battle of the top-two, leaders Mochdre defeated defending champions St Asaph by 47 runs in a low-scoring contest.

Three wickets apiece from Gareth Goodson and Will Norman saw Mochdre all out for 104, while the Saints could only muster 57. Adam Campion, Marcus Mangiameli and Stewart Williams bagged three wickets each.

Llandudno are still searching for their first win of the season on the back of a two-wicket loss to Menai Bridge and Denbigh lost out by four wickets at Bangor.

There are a quartet of league T20 tussles on Monday.

Brymbo play host to Northop, Gwersyllt Park travel to Gresford and Llandudno have home advantage versus Mochdre.

The other match sees Menai Bridge at home to Bangor.

Monay’s Division Two fixtures: Bersham v Corwen; Llay Welfare v Gresford 2nds.

Division Three: Buckley 2nds v Conwy 2nds; Hawarden Park 2nds v Gwersyllt Park 2nds; Mold 2nds v Halkyn 2nds; Pwllheli v Denbigh 2nds.

Division Four: Ruthin 2nds v Llandudno 2nds; Mynydd Isa & Maeshafn v Llanrwst 2nds.

Northop Seconds took over at the top of Division One with a 76-run verdict at home to Halkyn, who were dismissed for 61 (Nathan Lavender 22no).

Matt Mullarkey, Joe Griffiths and Mark Poynton each claimed three wickets for Northop, who had earlier set 137 all out (Darren Williams 26, Muhammad Khan 4-36).

Connah’s Quay are up to third after they ended Mold’s unbeaten start to the campaign in thrilling fashion.

Darren Jones’ 21 and 31 extras helped to boost Quay to 84 all out (Munowar Samsodien 4-11), before Lee Davies (4-13) and Darren Leach (3-12) helped to dismiss Mold for 70.

Hawarden Park’s three-wicket victory versus Buckley continued the low-scoring theme, with Park’s 66 for seven coming in response to Buckley’s 65.

However, more runs were witnessed as Pontblyddyn managed to get the better of Brymbo Seconds by two wickets.

Brymbo’s 45 overs yielded 169 for nine and Pontblyddyn then reached 170 for eight with three deliveries to spare.

Shaun Davies’ knock of 54 was the highlight of Abergele’s comfortable 82-run victory over front-runners Bethesda and Dolgellau got the better of Abergele by 23 runs in the other encounter.


Division Two: Corwen 143-9 Mochdre 2nds 156; Gresford 2nds 117 Pontblyddyn 2nds 99; Menai Bridge 2nds 118-5 Bangor 2nds 114-9; St Asaph 2nds 106 Marchwiel and Wrexham 135.

Division Three: Connah’s Quay 2nds 145-4 Buckley 2nds 146-3; Conwy 2nds 136-2 Caernarfon 134-5; Denbigh 2nds 84-9 Ruthin 85-7; Pwllheli 187-7 Bethesda 2nds 111.

Division Four: Abergele 2nds 139-8 Carmel & District 2nds 120-7; Bersham 2nds 116 Llandudno 2nds 90; Marchwiel and Wrexham 2nds 141-4 Mynydd Isa & Maeshafn 140-8; Ruthin 2nds 78-1 Corwen 2nds 77.