MARCHWIEL AND WREXHAM moved up to second place in Division Two with a comfortable 10-wicket success over Llanrwst.

Muhammad Ghufran (3-14) and Scott Lawrenson (3-21) starred with the ball as Marchwiel dismissed Llanrwst for 93 (Stefan Horan 30).

There was no hanging around in reply as Sam Shoemark cracked a rapid 71 not out to go with Michael Forgrave’s unbeaten 19 as Marchwiel made it two wins from three outings.

Leaders St Asaph Seconds were too strong for Pontblyddyn Seconds, winning by 163 runs.

Opener Dominic Haynes (112 no) and Richard Aram (84no) piled on the runs for the tabletoppers who finished on 239 for two after 40 overs and then sent Pont packing for 76 (Ryan Pearce 17, Iwan Roberts 4-19).

Llay Welfare triumphed by 28 runs against Corwen despite being all out for 110, Tom Parry (29) top scoring and Jason Jones bagging 3-19.

It was enough, though, as Corwen were stopped on 82 (Mayurkumar Paladiya 19, Deemantha Bandara 3-15, Jacob Roberts 3-12).

Gresford Seconds sit bottom after being punished by 95 runs against Mochdre seconds.

Mochdre (Jon Davies 65, Jack Bunkell 4-37) posted 217 for eight and Gresford finished on 122 for seven (James Griffin 66no, Alex J Davies 3-4).

Bersham replied with 136 for nine (Maneesha Ayomal Nissanka 78) at Bangor, who had already cracked 214 for two (Sion Llwyd 104, Chris Barry 82) and the home side won by 78 runs.

Carmel & District only made 61 (Daniel Sim 23) against Menai Bridge Seconds (Ian Granger 41) who had earlier been dismissed for 122 and lost by 61 runs.

In Division Three, Hawarden Park Seconds are up to second place after beating Halkyn Seconds by 23 runs.

Hawarden (Luke Bennett 42, Josh Edwards 3-4) were all out for 68 but responded by dismissing Halkyn for 45 (Andy Rooke 18no, Owen Ford 4-14).

Leaders Ruthin beat Mold Seconds by seven wickets. Daniel Drew (47) helped Mold to amass 97 as Oliver Jones and Matthew Duckworth both took three wickets and Ruthin won with 98 for three, Dafydd Roberts, Sion Hughes and Jac Evans all struck 20.

Gwersyllt Park Seconds opened up with 138 for eight (Matthew Jones 42) but Conwy Seconds romped home with 139 for one (Philip Michael Davies 93no) to seal a nine-wicket success.

Buckley Seconds replied with 61 for three (Alex Storey 33) to defeat Bethesda seconds by seven wickets after they opened up with 56 all out (Alyn Evans 4-2).

Marchwiel and Wrexham Seconds suffered a first defeat of the Division Four season after going down by 77 runs at Bersham Seconds.

Santhu Kj made 30 as Bersham were dismissed for 144, Nick Husbands taking 3-16, but second-placed Marchwiel were stopped on 67 (Zahid Sharif 24).

Abergele Seconds (102 for two) overcame Dolgellau Seconds (100) by eight wickets and Ruthin Seconds conceded their game at Llandudno Seconds.

Chirk Seconds have maintained their unbeaten start to the Shropshire League Division Seven season, but they were second best in their abandoned contest at Acton Reynald.

Skipper Dale Randall (49) top scored in Chirk’s 120 all out, while Acton Reynald were 81 without loss in the 13th over when the match was abandoned.

In the Liverpool Competition, Northop Hall Seconds had to settle for a draw from their trip to Caldy Seconds.

Gareth Fox (74) and Jack Smallwood (50 not out) helped Hall to 174 for four declared, while Caldy hung on at 75 for nine in reply. Sion Hellen grabbed six for nine.