WREXHAM athletes were in record breaking form at a top regional event.

Deeside played host to the North Wales track and field championships, where Wrexham AAC’s Tomasi Fidow broke the U13 boys’ shot put championship record with an effort of 9.72m. He also won the discus (23.75m).

Championship records also came in the M75 class, with Ian Robinson achieving new best marks in winning the hammer (19.49m) and discus (27.47m), Paul Brooks’ 6.60m was a new best in the shot and Bob Frost (2.35m) bagged the long jump record. Frost was also victorious in the javelin with 14.46m.

Amanda Cook claimed new championship bests in the W45 long jump (4.50m) and triple jump (9.20m), with Neil Edwards also achieving the feat in the M40 110-metre hurdles (23.66). He also won the pole vault (2.60m) and javelin (35.08m).

In the U13 girls’ section, Wrexham’s Bethan Roberts (17.47m) won the javelin, ahead of runner-up Darcey Jones (16.22m), while Katie McGlynn (12.47m) was third. Katie was the runner-up in the high jump (1.20m) and Bethan was second in the 800m (2-48.77).

Jake McGlynn was second in the U13 boys’ long jump (3.73m) and 100m (15.32), while over in the U15 girls’ class, Sophie Forgrave won the hammer event (21.42m), Olivia Jones triumphed in the high jump (1.25m) and Ffion Rowe was third in the long jump (3.91m). There were third-placed spots for Isabella Bennett in the javelin (22.04m) and discus (15.39m).

Henry Ellis (20.77m) won the U15 boys’ discus, Lucy Jones triumphed in the U17 women’s 300m (42.22) and Mannie Thomas crossed the line first in the U20 men’s 100m (11.61).

William Ellis (31.50m) was runner-up in the U17 men’s discus, Richard Westwood (11-54.81) claimed victory in the M45 3000m and Jen Hampton (27.28m) triumphed in the senior women’s javelin.

In the senior men’s section, Oliver Edwards clocked 53.30 for first spot in the 400m.

There were plenty of Deeside AAC triumphs in track events, with Oliver Surman winning the U15 boys’ pole vault, while a clutch of wins came in the hammer. These were from Tia Tuft (U17 women), Gethin Brown (U17 men), Megan Brown (U20 women), Lesley Brown (senior women) and David Stokes (M60)

In javelin, there were victories for George Clark (U13 boys), Kate Church (U15 girls), Gil Fook (U15 boys), Rebecca Smith (U17 women), Isaac Bromwich (U17 men) and Megan Brown (U20 women), while Alice Sykes-Hand (U13 girls) and Aidan Angilletta (U15 boys) triumphed in high jump.

Turning to discus and wins went the way of Clemence Batt (U15 girls), Isla Peake (U17 women), Gethin Brown (U17 men), Megan Brown (U20 women) and David Stokes (M60), with Alice Sykes-Hand (U13 girls), Thomas Wood (U13 boys) and Olivia Schrimshaw (U17 women) all triumphant in the long jump.

Shot put success was achieved by Clemence Batt (U15 girls), Rebecca Smith (U17 women) and Lesley Brown (senior women), while triple jump victories went to Aidan Angilletta (U15 boys) and Olivia Schrimshaw (U17 women).

Wrexham AAC’s Thomas Walley produced at effort of 5.11m to win the senior men’s pole vault at Vault Manchester, while Amber Simpson (66.18m) took third in the senior women’s hammer at the Big Ten Championships in Michigan.

Deestrider Jay Jennions completed the Milton Keynes half-marathon in 1-41.51, while the club’s contingent at the Dinas Bran hill race was led by Paul Lewtey (49.16). He was followed by Fred Aird (51.18), Claire Harper and Amanda Scotter (65.05).

Deestriders were well represented at the Oswestry Olympians Chirk Castle Relay, featuring in four teams.

The Green Machines - Donna Griffiths, Lisa Cooper and Michelle Bowes - were third in the women’s division.

Wrexham’s Evan Williams (10.94) took second in the senior men’s 100m at the Avon county championships and clubmate Amanda Bailey (43.51) was 119th at the Market Drayton 10k, while Linda Jones (20th in 2-38.59) and Charles Ashley (81st in 3-38.50) took on the Excalibur Trail half-marathon.

David Millington (168th in 43.39) was the leading Wrexham racer at the Alderley Edge 10k, ahead of Gwyn Roberts (176th in 44.05), Matty Williams (324th in 48.56), Anna Moccia (595th in 55.59) and Karl Moore (851st in 62.31).

There was a great show of support for Deestrider Paul ‘Fred’ Aird as he ran his 250th parkrun at Erddig in 26.39.

Other times: Mark Williams 24.28; Linda Turley 24.53; Lisa Cooper 26.09; Jenny Lewtey-Jones 29.49; Martin Witty 30.43; Jane Blackwell 34.22; Alannah O’Brien 34.42; Christine Cammillare 34.42; Paul Lewtey 35.09; Fiona Robinson 35.15; Sue Bonney 35.39; Claire Harper 36.06; Sarah Brown 36.10; Bonnie Knox 37.36; Sue McIndoe 37.36.

Wrexham’s Connor Rogers won the Knowsley parkrun in 17.02.