THOMAS WILLIAMS has created history over in Ireland.

The Wrexham AAC youngster launched a new personal best competing in the hammer at the St Abban’s AC open meeting in Carlow.

However, that wasn’t all, as his mammoth throw of 74.30-metres is a new club record and it’s also a new senior Welsh record as well!

It eclipsed the previous mark of 73.89-metres achieved by Osian Jones at the 2019 British Championships, in Birmingham.

Continuing the victorious efforts was the Wrexham AAC quartet of Ryan Davis, Connor Rogers, Luke Northall and Ben Goodfellow, who finished first in the Border Road Race Relays at Birkenhead.

Making it a busy spell, three of them were also part of the North Wales team at the Race for Victory 5k. Leading the trio in a personal best of 15.09 was 24th-placed Rogers, ahead of Davis (30th in 15.12) and Northall (61st in 15.42).

Over at the Great Birmingham 10k, James Yarwood (33rd in 34.20) was a member of the M35 Welsh Masters team. A trio of Wrexham athletes competed at the Trafford AC medal meeting. In the senior men’s section, Oliver Edwards clocked 52.38 for second place in the 400-metres.

Spencer Jones’ 4-01.20 was a new personal best and club record as he took fourth in the under-13 boys’ 1200-metres, while Annabelle Jones took three podium places in the under-15 girls’ section. A personal best of 33.13m saw her win the javelin, while another personal best (28.40m) took runners-up spot in the discus and she was third in the shot put (8.28m).

It’s been a busy spell for U23 Evan Williams, who clocked 11.20 in the 100-metres at Run With The Win in Cardiff, while 23.42 saw him finish third in the 200-metres at the Loughborough Open.

Amber Bailey (1-17.27) was the first F50 and 33rd overall in the Goldrush trail race, at Coed y Brenin, while Ally Hughes took third in the Pen Dinas and Moel Eilio fell races, in 28.15 and 1-14.43 respectively. Glyn Wise (1-39.16) was 68th at the latter.

George Hughes won the U11 boys’ race at Pen Dinas and was second at Moel Eilio, while in the U15 girls’ races, Evie Hughes won both, ahead of runner-up Grace Hughes.

Deestrider Donna Griffiths completed the London Olympia women’s open Hyrox event in a fantastic personal best time of 1-17.01.

May the Fourth was the second round of Deestriders’ parkrun Blitz series.

Birkenhead: Darren Low 24.54; Ellesmere Port: Mike Norris 29.57; Heaton: Sid Bailey 37.29; Pwllheli: Graham Bryan 24.47.

Max Dowell (21.14) was the leading Deestrider at Wepre, ahead of Antony Woodall (21.24), Rayko Kolev (23.39), Michelle Bowes (24.15), Paul Lewtey (24.30) and Tomas Kuzmicius (24.50).

Other Deestriders: Jay Jennions 26.31; Linda Turley 26.56; Mark Harney 27.08; David Temple 27.47; Fred Aird 28.08; Justin Evans 28.45; Lindsey McElmeel 29.32; Kevin Burns 29.38; Martin Witty 31.47; Sarah Monteith 32.27; Dafydd Morris 32.28; Jenny Lewtey-Jones 32.31; Amanda Scotter 32.40; Ann-marie Fauset 32.43; Jane Blackwell 35.32; Claire Harper 36.13; Elaine Thomson 36.46; Sue Bonney 36.55; Fiona Robinson 42.25; Sue McIndoe 42.28; Helen Campbell 53.57.

Wrexham’s Connor Rogers (24.50) was ninth at the Henley Wood parkrun, ahead of clubmate Mark Hughes (17th in 27.17), while Glyn Wise (19.58) was eighth at Penrhyn and Peter Hughes (29.32) 40th at Durlston.

Over at Llangollen, Charles Ashley (65th in 28.38) was the leading Wrexham racer, ahead of Jennifer Moss (90th in 31.26) and Stephen Walker (129th in 48.58). Tony Forster (21.27) claimed third at Erddig and other Wrexham members competing were Peter Sussex (33rd in 25.48) and Tomos Marriott (96th in 31.49), while Senna Thomas (9.40) was fifth in the Alyn Waters junior parkrun.