A STRONG contingent of Wrexham AAC members represented the club at the West Cheshire track and field open.

Ellesmere Port staged the competition and a number of Wrexham athletes celebrated victories.

Tomasi Fidow produced a personal best of 21.25-metres to win the U13 boys’ discus, while Ian Robinson triumphed in the M75 hammer (19.02m) and discus (25.20m). Clubmate Paul Brooks was runner-up in both of the events and Glyn Wise (pictured below) won the senior men’s 110-metre hurdles (21.70) and was second in the long jump (4.52m).

Rory Dixon took second in the U11 boys’ turbo javelin (10.79m) and he also took part in the 600-metres (2-22.9) and long jump, while over in the U11 girls’ section, Seren Fidow achieved 8.73m in the turbo javelin. Olivia Dixon threw 7.45m in the same event and also took part in the 600-metres (2-37.1) and long jump (1.81m).

Connor Rogers took on the Prague half-marathon, where he crossed the line 47th in 1-12.57. Mark Hughes clocked 2-04.55. Deestrider Ally Morrison ran a strong 2-29 at the London Landmarks half-marathon.

Wrexham AAC’s contingent at the Whitchurch 10k was led by Steve Jones (21st in 42.10), followed by Rowena Lewis (123rd in 52.50), Charles Ashley (243rd in 59.28) and Karl Moore (264th in 60.25). Meanwhile, Gwyn Roberts (1-05.06) was 27th at the Trawsfynydd eight-mile trail race, with Beth Hewitt clocking 1-15.02 for 79th and Alyson Winn 232nd in 2-16.43.

Saturday was the first instalment of Deestriders’ parkrun blitz, where members compete against each other in a league table throughout the year.

The suggested course was Phoenix Park in Runcorn, however any parkrun done on this day by a club member counts.

Phoenix: Paul Lewtey 24.08; Jay Jennions 24.31; Christine Cammillare 24.54; Darren Low 25.46; Kevin Burns 28.41; Debbie Parry 30.14; Amanda Scotter 30.18; Sarah Monteith 30.30; Jenny Lewtey Jones 31.06; Claire Harper 36.25; Sue Bonney 36.33; Sue Bryan 40.34; Cathy Robinson 40.54; Fred Aird 40.55; Helen Campbell 52.42

Birkenhead: Antony Woodall 20.39. Erddig: Mike Norris 32.16.

Deestrider Paul Lyth won the Greenfield parkrun with a personal best of 21.10. Deestriders’ home parkrun at Wepre was well represented by runners and marshals.

Results: Tomas Kuzmicius 23.40; Donna Griffiths 27.37; Linda Turley 28.55; Mark Harney 29.11; Rhian Lloyd 30.10; Martin Witty 31.40; Dafydd Morris 31.51; Sarah Brown 35.03; Jane Blackwell 36.23; Corinne Wardle 37.02; Justin Evans 37.03; Fiona Robinson 37.06; Sue McIndoe 37.07; Beverley Goodson 38.57; Bonnie Knox 39.03.

Evie Hughes (8.20) and Ellis Jones (9.42) made sure it was a Wrexham one-two at the Alyn Waters junior parkrun, while Glyn Wise clocked 23.44 for fourth at Ellesmere Port and Mike Robbins (24.55) was 15th at Wepre.

Macey Quick (30.50) took part in Delamere and Rachel Nickerson (49.43) competed at the Woodgate Valley event and Charles Ashley (28.39) raced at Llangollen.

The leading Wrexham competitors at Erddig were Peter Hughes (42nd in 27.09), Simon Williams (59th in 29.00) and Tomos Marriott (76th in 30.43), followed by Philip Walker (95th in 31.55), Karl Moore (102nd in 32.24) and Alex Edwards (106th in 32.58).

Buckley Runners’ Couch to 5k programme for this spring will get underway next week.

Last year, 25 runners completed the programme with the club and they graduated at the Wepre parkrun at the end of the nine weeks. Many of them have continued running with Buckley and gone on to achieve further personal running challenges. Sessions take place every Tuesday and Thursday (6.30pm) on Buckley Common, starting from Tuesday, April 16.

Anybody interested in joining the group can contact Nicole van den Wittenboer at nicole@wittenboer.co.uk