THERE was no doubting Thomas when he threw down the gauntlet to his rivals.

Wrexham AAC’s Thomas Williams has been over in Ireland to take part in the AAI Spring Throws event, in Tullamore.

A personal best of 73.27-metres saw him win the under-17 men’s hammer.

A number of Wrexham athletes competed at the Trafford AC medal meeting.

In the under-13 boys’ section, there were two victories for Tomasi Fidow - in the discus (17.97m) and shot put (8.71m). In the same age group, an effort of 26.65m saw Spencer Jones triumph in the javelin.

The winning theme was continued by Annabelle Jones in the under-15 girls’ discus (25.71m), while she was second in the javelin (27.45m) and there was double joy for Evan Williams in the under-23 men’s section.

He won both the 100-metres (11.20) and 200-metres (23.28), while there was a third-placed finish from Oliver Edwards (52.93) in the senior men’s 400-metres.

Provisional results have been published from the Blackpool AC open meeting.

Spencer Jones competed in the U13 boys’ 800-metres (2-38.1), shot put (7.18m) and discus (14.26m) and Annabelle Jones took part in the U15 girls’ discus (27.05m) and shot put (9.03m).

Top-five spots were claimed by two Wrexham racers at the Alyn Waters 5k. Gwyn Roberts was fourth in 21.50, one place ahead of Richard Westwood (22.23).

In the 10k, Tony Forster was fourth in 47.43, followed by Dave Millington (sixth in 48.22) and Alan Williams (63.33).

Deestrider Rhian Lloyd crossed the line as the 11th lady in 60.03 and clubmate Sue Bonney ran 74.09.

Wrexham’s Connor Rogers clocked 16.28 to triumph at the most recent St Helens parkrun, with Mark Hughes (25.39) in 65th.

At the most recent Greenfield parkrun, Wrexham’s Glyn Wise was fifth in 20.23, with Deestrider Paul Lewtey clocking 29.36.

Meanwhile, at Llangollen, the Wrexham contingent was led by Peter Sussex (43rd in 25.27), followed by Charles Ashley (63rd in 27.08), Tomos Marriott (140th in 32.26) and Stephen Walker (178th in 38.31).

Deestriders were also well represented, with Claire Harper achieving a parkrun personal best of 30.59.

She was joined at the race by clubmates Craig Davies (20.24), Fred Aird (26.43), Kevin Burns (27.02), Sue Williams (31.26), Jo Houghton-Davies (31.30) and Amanda Scotter (31.37).

Rayko Kolev (25.22) and Tomas Kuzmicius (26.07) spear-headed the Deestriders’ efforts at the Wepre parkrun and they were followed by Donna Griffiths (27.53), Stuart Brown (35.09), Sarah Brown (35.15) and Mark Harney (42.24).

Wrexham AAC members taking part were Mike Robbins (15th in 24.56), David Jones (57th in 30.18), Macey Quick (68th in 32.09) and Karl Moore (81st in 33.40).

Competing at the Squerryes winery parkrun were Ian Grimshaw (49th in 30.17) and Sarah Grimshaw (66th in 31.55), while Ellis Jones (9.51) was the runner-up at the Alyn Waters junior parkrun.