A MAGICAL time was had out in Malta by a Wrexham’s Matthew Willis.

The runner was celebrating on three fronts at the conclusion of the Malta half-marathon, in Sliema.

His time of 63.38 was good enough to win the race, while he also set a new Wrexham AAC and North Wales record for the distance in the process.

Continuing the international theme, Llinos Godden-Williams clocked 2-08.16 in the Paris half-marathon.

Thomas Walley, the recent bronze medalist at the UK indoor championships, competed in the Loughborough pole vault invitational. An effort of 5.15-metres saw him in fourth spot.

A quartet of Wrexham athletes competed at the Welsh schools cross-country championships, in Brecon.

In they year seven girls’ event, Bethan Roberts crossed the line 10th in 9.53, with Grace Hughes 24th in 10.20.

Turning to the junior girls’ race and an effort of 14.14 saw Evie Hughes 36th, while Erin Smith (19.40) was 67th in the middle girls’ event.

Ian James was the first M60 at the Rhayader Lakes 30k event. He clocked 2-21.27 to cross the line in 64th.

Wrexham AAC racers at the Trafford 10k were James Nicholls (243rd in 34.12) and Andrew Jones (430th in 37.17).

Glyn Wise (50.22) finished 30th during the Conwy pipe dream fell race in Dolgarrog, while there were runner-up spots for two youngsters in the Allt Wen junior fell races, in Conwy.

George Hughes (15.09) was second in the U11 boys’ race, with Evie Hughes (22.52) matching that lofty spot in the U15 girls’ contest. Grace Hughes (25.54) was fourth in this class.

Good things can come to those who don’t give up!

After 76 attempts, Deestrider Jo Houghton-Davies (28.03) was first lady finisher at the Wepre parkrun, backed up by teammate Michelle Bowes.

Wrexham AAC’s Mike Robbins was 17th in 25.53.

Other Deestriders: Paul Lyth 25.44; Mark Harney 29.07; Martin Witty 29.49; Sarah Brown 32.24; Jane Blackwell 36.16; Beverley Goodson 37.11.

Meanwhile, over at the Prestatyn event, Deestrider Donna Griffiths ‘won’ the women’s division in an impressive personal best of 23.09 and Dafydd Morris won the V65 category on the Nant y Pandy course in a good time of 28.20.

Parkruns also proved to be popular for Wrexham racers.

Connor Rogers claimed victory at Colwick in a time of 17.06, while Mark Hughes was 93rd in 26.13.

Christian Smith (18.45) was the runner-up at Hackney Marshes, Steve Jones (20.22) finished 45th in York, Glyn Wise (20.21) was fifth at Conwy and Charles Ashley (28.53) crossed the line 45th in Llangollen.

The leading Wrexham racers at Erddig were Tony Forster (12th in 21.54) and Michael Hazel (14th in 22.03).

They were followed by Peter Sussex (46th in 26.09), Simon Williams (91st in 29.39), Macey Quick (103rd in 31.39), Karl Moore (127th in 33.18) and John Tipping (198th in 50.08).