ROBERT CROFT has enjoyed many memorable battles on the cricket pitch.

However, his efforts to reach the North Wales Cricket League’s annual dinner took on epic proportions!

The event was held on the same day that Storm Babet struck and former Glamorgan and England off-spinner Croft was able to make his way to the dinner.

He was joined by comedian Jed Stone as a successful North Wales summer was marked in some style.

A post on the league’s X site read: “Huge thank you to all our clubs, officials & friends that braved Storm Babet on Friday to attend our annual League Dinner.

“An enjoyable evening with great entertainment from @stone_jed & the Cricket Legend @RDBCroft10.”

It was a memorable evening for Gwersyllt Park, who claimed the Division One championship trophy, while skipper Iroshan de Silva doubled up to bag the division’s batting and bowling awards.

During a superb summer, he scored 913 runs at an average of 76.08, while de Silva’s 36 wickets cost just 7.61 runs apiece.

A tally of 20 victims saw Connah’s Quay’s Tom Hooson win the Division One wicket-keeping award.

Brymbo’s Jason Underwood took the Premier Division batting accolade.

He struck 664 runs at an average of 60.36.

St Asaph duo Dan Evans and Nathaniel Scott took the division’s bowling and wicket-keeping awards respectively.

Evans’ 41 wickets came at an average of 11.80 and Scott pouched 24 victims during the Saints’ title-winning campaign.

Brymbo Seconds took the Division Two title on the back of an unbeaten season and the division’s batting prize headed to Bersham’s Maneesha Ayomal Nissanka.

Averaging an impressive 76.36, Nissanka finished the summer with 840 runs.

With 15 victims, the Division Two wicket-keeping award went to Pontblyddyn Seconds’ Dave Evans and Llanrwst’s Scott Evans bagged the bowling award after securing 21 wickets.

These came at a scarcely believable average of 4.38.

Corwen scooped the Division Three championship, while Ruthin’s experienced campaigner Matthew Duckworth claimed the bowling accolade.

He took 25 wickets at an average of 8.36.

Denbigh Seconds’ Jon Eccles (365 runs at 45.63) was the winner of the batting prize and Conwy’s Graham Heath (16 victims) was the top wicket-keeper.

In the Sunday East Division, there was double joy for Northop Hall.

The batting award winner was Thomas Doggett (416 runs at 69.33) and Thomas Hellen (18 victims) took the wicket-keeping prize.

Bersham’s Derick Dineshan (34 wickets at 6.44) took the bowling accolade.

Bangor’s Hari Williams is the winner of this year’s Arwyn Hughes Trophy for the region’s best bowling performance.

He took 7-12 for Bangor Thirds against their St Asaph counterparts.

The Viv Evans Trophy for the best batting performance of the season went to Menai Bridge’s Jack Gower.

He struck a stunning 160 against Mochdre.

Gwersyllt Park will be staging their presentation evening this Friday.