THINGS are just champion for Brymbo Seconds!

For the second summer in a row, Brymbo have secured promotion and this time they’ve achieved the feat as champions.

Brymbo were runners-up as they made the step-up from Division Three last time out, but their nine-wicket win over Pontblyddyn Seconds has confirmed the 2023 Division Two crown.

After winning the toss, Brymbo restricted Pontblyddyn to 140 for nine from their rain-reduced 30 overs.

Ethan Roberts (34) and Dave Evans (31) were the leading contributors to the tally, as Terry Jones (3-43), Ross Roberts (2-25) and Gareth Pugh (2-29) kept things in check.

Joss Roberts and Craig Morse (38) put on 75 for the first wicket as Brymbo kept their eyes on the prize, while an unbroken second wicket stand of 69 made sure of the title.

This was put together by Roberts (70 not out) and Pugh (20 not out) to make sure of maximum points.

Brymbo Thirds have lost top spot in the Sunday East Division after Bersham Thirds took over with a 73 run victory over Hawarden Park Thirds.

Shins Varghese was the star for Bersham scoring 48 in his side’s 142. He then took four wickets as Park were skittled for 69.

There were also wins for Northop Hall Fourths and Corwen.

In the only other Division Two contest to survive the heavy rain, Bersham strengthened their top-three hopes with an eight-wicket triumph at home to Gresford Seconds.

Batting first, Gresford had a reduced 30 overs to make their mark and they were able to reach a competitive 146 for three.

George Morris struck a brilliant 77 not out for Gresford, while Robert Clark added 25 at the top of the order.

However, Bersham claimed the spoils on the back of their chase of 152 for two. Maneesha Ayomal Nissanka (90 not out) and Iwan Lloyd (36 not out) saw Bersham home.

In Division Four, Carmel & District Seconds suffered a 45-run reverse from their visit to Ruthin Seconds.

Ruthin set 120 for six as Luke Owen (3-27) impressed with the ball. Carmel were all out for 75.

Leaders Pwllheli bagged a nine-wicket triumph at home to Llanrwst Seconds, who were bundled out for 57.