WHAT a thrilling conclusion to the North Wales Cricket League’s Premier Division season is in store.

With five games left to play, the gap between front-runners Northop and third-placed Brymbo is less than a maximum points triumph.

Northop remain favourites for the crown following their three-wicket win in a low-scoring affair at Llandudno.

It was the visiting bowlers to the fore as Llandudno were skittled for just 108 (Marlon Barclay 3-16, Mark Poynton 3-16).

The chase wasn’t straight-forward, with Andy Poynton (18 not out) and Barclay (17 not out) compiling an unbroken eighth wicket stand of 38 to help Northop to 109 for seven (Henry Dowd 34).

Brymbo claimed a thumping 196-run triumph at home to Denbigh after setting an imposing 339 for seven.

Jason Underwood cracked 134 from just 101 deliveries, while Chris Taylor struck 66.

Archie Sussex was left unbeaten on 46 in Denbigh’s 143 (Mohamed Nilam Jayman 3-35).

Pontblyddyn are still in with a chance of beating the drop on the back of a key three-wicket win at Mold, who set 254 for six (George Deniz 69 not out, John Crane 64, Renacko Belgrave 3-72).

Gethin Thomas’ sparkling 110 then boosted Pontblyddyn to 256 for seven (Dave Evans 42, Munowar Samsodien 6-43).

A brave declaration has moved Halkyn 14 points clear of the drop zone. They declared on 148 for eight (Nathan Roett 63 not out, Franco Kasner 5-27) prior to dismissing Bangor for 126 (Nathan Berry 55, Jamie Griffiths 2-14, Muhammad Khan 2-18).

Hosting defending champions Menai Bridge, Gresford’s effort realised 134 for nine (Wes Evans 82, Iwan Moore 3-15). Earlier in the day, Bridge were all out for 278 (Dion Holden 69, Gethin Roberts 69, Gareth Bell 6-28).

St Asaph maintained their title aims courtesy of a four-wicket outcome at Mochdre.

It was carnival day back home in Bradley and it was just as lively in Abergele where Division One leaders Gwersyllt Park celebrated a four-wicket win.

Captain Iroshan De Silva landed 4-19 and Lewis Cole and Dan Jones took two wickets each as Abergele slumped to 92 all out. Jake James’ unbeaten 30 led Park to 93 for six.

Hawarden Park’s winning run continued and they are 23 points behind in second place after a 17-run victory at Connah’s Quay.

Adam De Dycke’s 76 and 60 from Romano Franco took Hawarden to 227 as Mali Auty, Darren Leach and Callum Miller took three wickets each.

Josh Clarke’s brilliant 107 plus 48 from opener Tom Hooson took the hosts close but Fabio Franco’s 5-56 saw them fall short on 210.

Northop seconds leapfrogged Conwy into third place after beating their rivals by 105 runs.

Darren Williams (58) top scored and Finn Jenkins added an unbeaten 38 in Northop’s 213 for nine. Man of the match Williams then took 5-18 as Conwy were dismissed for 108.

Buckley thrashed Marchwiel and Wrexham by eight wickets in the big game at the bottom.

Lee Taylor’s 5-23 saw the hosts skittled for 94. Danny Peover (43) and Adam Smith (38 not out) led Buckley home.

Llay Welfare remain in the bottom two after a two-wicket defeat at home to Dolgellau.

Jack Honey (38) top scored in Llay’s 135 but the visitors sneaked it with their 136 for eight reply.

Other result: Menai Bridge 2nds 151-6, Bethesda 150.

Division Two: Bangor 2nds 102-6 Gresford 2nds 99-8; Buckley 2nds 71 Brymbo 2nds 75-2; Hawarden Park 2nds 143-7 Bersham 144-2; St Asaph 2nds 238-7 Mold 2nds 73.

Division Three: Bethesda 2nds 72-2 Connah’s Quay 2nds 68; Conwy 2nds 124-9 Llandudno 2nds 123-7; Corwen 181-5 Ruthin 144.

Division Four: Ruthin 2nds 121 Llanrwst 2nds 110-9.

In the Liverpool Competition, Northop Hall were on the wrong end of a six-wicket reverse at home to Norley Hall.

Ben Slater’s knock of 51 was the highlight as the hosts were all out for 137, before Norley Hall eased to a winning 138 for four.

There was better fortune for Chirk, who defeated Shropshire League Division One leaders Frankton by six wickets.

Andrew Swarbrick bagged a brilliant 6-11 return as Frankton were bundled out for just 73 (Liam Walker 3-21).

Skipper James Carter (21) top scored in Chirk’s 77 for four.