A CLUTCH of close contests marked the latest spot of action in Division Two.

Mold seconds and Pontblyddyn seconds were pipped by fewer than 20 runs in their encounters.

There was a trip to second-placed Llanrwst for Pontblyddyn, who did well to restrict their opponents to 149 for seven.

Aron Hughes’ knock of 54 was pivotal to Llanrwst’s effort, while Ethan Roberts (2-26) impressed with the ball.

Although Dave Evans (60) and Phil Davies (36) were in fine form with the bat, time ran out with Pontblyddyn on 131 for six (Alwyn Williams 4-26).

It was even closer as Mold paid a visit to Bersham.

Batting first after losing the toss, Bersham’s 40 overs managed to yield 171 for seven.

Maneesha Ayomal Nissanka (74) was the leading light, while Aled Proffit grabbed two wickets for the visitors.

Mold got as close as 160 and they were dismissed with seven balls of their innings remaining.

Openers Chris Boulton (65) and Craig Roberts (34) led the chase, with Sameera De Silva (3-18) and Steffan Lloyd (3-28) swinging it in Bersham’s favour.

Leaders Brymbo seconds are halfway to a perfect season on the back of their three-wicket success at home to Mochdre seconds.

Mochdre struck a competitive 160 all out from their time at the crease.

Ross Roberts (3-29), Gareth Boys (2-23) and Joss Roberts (2-34) were the main wicket-takers for Brymbo, who replied with 162 for seven.

Joss Roberts (79 not out), Boys (28) and Chris McCartney (24) made sure of Brymbo’s 11th triumph of the summer.

It was a day for the bowlers as Carmel & District got the better of Gresford seconds by five wickets.

Amer Jamil claimed an astonishing 4-1 return as Gresford were all out for just 42.

Ben Sim (3-12) and Danny Owens (2-9) also made their mark, but the chase was far from straight-forward as Carmel reached 43 for five.

Ryan Roberts hit a crucial 22 not out and Harry Morris (4-17) kept Gresford interested.

Things were more comfortable for Hawarden Park seconds in their 103-run triumph at Buckley seconds.

Craig Wilson (102) and Antonio Carrino (81) were in terrific form as Park got to 232 for five (Abbey Mayers 2-23).

Buckley’s effort ended on 129 (Johnny Hewitt 45, Haseeb Hanif Bikya 4-9, Tom Wilson 3-30).

In further Division Two action, Bangor seconds defeated St Asaph seconds by four wickets.

Bangor’s 165 for six (Nadeem Rehman 33) arrived in response to the Saints’ 164 for nine (David Lloyd 45).

There was just one contest in Division Three, where Connah’s Quay seconds eased to a 98-run success at Gwersyllt Park seconds.

Mike Griffiths (27) was the chief scorer in Park’s 113 all out (Rhys Jones 5-25).

This came after Quay’s 40 overs had supplied 211 for nine (Calum Jones 63, Andy Tilley 35, Dale Jones 34). Josh Marshall, Graeme Bell and Mike Griffiths picked up two wickets apiece.

Turning to Division Four and Hawarden Park thirds picked up a three-wicket win at Marchwiel and Wrexham seconds.

The home side set 131 for seven (Ted Probin 27, Jack Williams 2-13, Osbourne Allen 2-14).

Later in the day, James Taylor’s patient 39 not out helped Hawarden Park to 132 for six (Mike Lee 2-26).

Osian Roberts struck 69 and took two for nine in Ruthin seconds’ three-wicket defeat to Dolgellau seconds.