THE unbeaten run has continued for Chirk in Shropshire League action.

It’s now five matches without defeat for James Carter’s side following their comfortable 60-run triumph at home to Bomere Heath.

This was Chirk’s sixth league win of the campaign and it sees them situated fourth in the Division One rankings at the halfway point of the campaign.

While nobody went on to compile a huge effort, a number of important contributions helped Chirk to reach 162 all out after they were invited to bat first.

Opener Wynn Jones (48), Shashika Meistry (26 not out) and Nick Flack (20) were the chief contributors with the bat, while Tom Ellis gained a four for 54 return.

Bomere Heath never seriously threatened to achieve their victory target and they were dismissed for 102.

Connor Bailey grabbed a stunning five for 11 return from his seven overs and Andrew Swarbrick snaffled three for 34.

A big Cheshire County League Premier Division derby ended up going in favour of Chester Boughton Hall.

Hall, who are battling against the possibility of relegation, were on top throughout in their eight-wicket success at title-chasing Neston.

Invited to make first use of the batting track, Neston found themselves all out for 140 in the 41st over.

Will Brewster (38) and Simon Stokes (31) led the fightback after the hosts were reduced to 4-3.

George McCormick (4-28) impressed with the ball for Chester Boughton Hall, who went on to reply with 142 for two in just 21 overs.

Openers Reg Wyatt (54) and Richard Moore (52) made sure it was a straight-forward chase.

A 14-strong North Wales squad has been selected to play in the three-day Merseyside competition, which begins at Chester Boughton Hall today.

Ralfie Challinor (Gwersyllt Park), Mali Auty (Connah’s Quay), James Martin (Hawarden Park), Sion Hellen (Northop Hall), Cayo Jones (Pontblyddyn), Charlie Collins (Northop) and Oliver Fellows (Buckley) are all included.

They are joined by Menai Bridge trio Iwan Moore, Matt Jones and Logan Morgan, in addition to Elliott Hughes (Llandudno), Archie Sussex (Denbigh), Osian Roberts (Ruthin) and Titus Mathew (Llandysul).