THERE were a clutch of close contests in the latest spot of the North Wales League action.

Denbigh and Mochdre played out a Premier Division tie, while Gwersyllt Park edged out Conwy by a single run in their top-of-the-table Division One contest.

Add to this list Pontblyddyn seconds’ thrilling two-run victory at home to Bangor seconds in Division Two.

Just about enough for victory, Pontblyddyn’s 40 overs yielded 187 for seven (Richard Davies 44, Nick Thomas 40, Ethan Roberts 36no).

Time ran out for Bangor with them on 185 for seven (Jamie Davies 58, Roberts 3-18).

Brymbo seconds made it nine wins from nine matches via a 117-run triumph at home to Mold seconds.

Henry Lunn’s terrific 94 not out helped Brymbo to 219 for six (Chris McCartney 38, Sam Aplin 35, Gareth Davies 3-49), while Mold’s response was halted on 102 (Chris Boulton 38).

Ross Roberts took a hat-trick on his way to a brilliant 6-4 return.

Gresford seconds bagged a five-wicket win at home to Hawarden Park seconds, who set 163 for eight (Craig Wilson 49, Matt Daulby 4-31, Josh Thomas 3-28).

Gez Jones’ knock of 50 was the main contribution in Gresford’s 167 for five.

There were away day losses for Carmel & District and Bersham.

Iwan Edwards (75) and Johann Fourie (58) boosted Llanrwst to 222 for six, prior to Carmel mustering 100 in response.

Bersham’s 147 for nine wasn’t enough for victory at Mochdre seconds, who replied with 148 for seven (Maneesha Ayomal Nissanka 3-21).

Buckley seconds struck 110 at home to St Asaph seconds, who then eased to 113 for two.

Connah’s Quay seconds lost out by 10 runs in a tight Division Three contest at home to Denbigh seconds.

Denbigh set 136 (Jack Griffiths 3-13, Stephen Norbury 2-16, Andy Tilley 2-17) and Quay got as close as 126 (Cole Hooson 51, Tilley 34, Darren Nixon 5-26).

Matthew Jones (77) and Neil Green (61) impressed in Gwersyllt Park seconds’ effort of 211 for four.

However, this wasn’t enough to secure victory, as Llandudno seconds responded with 212 for two (Ajay Dhawan 91no, Jake Sumbland 78no).

Mynydd Isa & Maeshafn suffered a seven-wicket reverse at leaders Ruthin, who compiled 147 for three (Jamie Hughes 58no).

Earlier in the day, the visitors reached 146 for seven (Umang Desai 52no, Abs Dey 43, Ned Roberts 3-19).

Corwen kept their promotion push on course courtesy of a six-wicket victory versus Conwy seconds, who were restricted to 139 for seven (Simon Harrison 3-15).

Harry Pooler’s 46 was the leading light in Corwen’s 141 for four.

Elsewhere, Caernarfon got the better of Bethesda seconds by 87 runs.

Halkyn seconds continue to lead the way in Division Four on the back of a nine-wicket outcome at Carmel & District seconds.

Second-placed Pwllheli eased to a maximum points win at Hawarden Park thirds, who were all out for 96 (Marcello Carrino 26, Ben Cowper 6-12).

This was in response to Pwllheli’s 206 (Adam Williams 63no, Ela Closs-Sharp 3-38).

There was better fortune for Marchwiel and Wrexham seconds with a four-wicket victory versus Llanrwst seconds, who were dismissed for 104 (Mike Lee 3-13).

The home side got over the line with 106 for six.

Sunday East Division leaders Brymbo Thirds continued their winning run after bowling out Buckley Thirds for just 47.

There were also victories for Hawarden Park Fourths, Northop Thirds and Northop Hall Fourths.