CHIRK'S upturn in Shropshire League fortune has continued thanks to a third win on the spin.

Win number five of the Division One campaign arrived with a 32-run outcome at home to Lilleshall.

After being invited to bat first, James Carter's hosts were soon in a spot of bother as they were reduced to 24 for three.

A middle order recovery was sparked by Nick Flack's near run-a-ball 51 and with Carter adding 34, Chirk were all out for 194 (Charlie Conquest 5-54).

Although Oli Todd (50) and Chris Tait (41) impressed with the bat, Lilleshall's chase was ended on 162.

Andrew Swarbrick grabbed a brilliant six for 51 return, while Flack bagged three for 45.

Chirk seconds lost out by four wickets during their high-scoring Division Eight venture at Sentinel thirds.

Chasing was a successful tactic for Northop Hall in Liverpool Competition action.

Hall are within 26 points of the Division Two promotion spots after a five-wicket outcome at Wavertree.

Theo O'Brien (63) and skipper Christopher Heath (48) were the main contributors as Wavertree were bowled out for 218 off the final delivery of their innings.

Ankur Malik's stunning form with the ball continued via his five for 88 return, while captain Carwyn Johnson claimed figures of three for 72.

Opener Alex Smith's unbeaten 121 was pivotal as Northop Hall got to 219 for five off the penultimate delivery of their innings.

Malik added 52 to the successful chase to help Hall achieve their third victory of the season.

Gwersyllt Park won their pivotal North Wales League Division One contest at Conwy by just a solitary run.

Iroshan De Silva (86), Ralfie Challinor (45) and George Miles (45) helped Gwersyllt Park to 198 for two, while Conwy ended on 197 for eight.

Northop seconds are the new leaders on the back of an eight-wicket win at Dolgellau, who were all out for 122 (Finn Jenkins 3-34). James Roberts made 45 not out in Northop’s 123 for two.

On their trip to Abergele, Buckley set 113 (Danny Peover 32, David Moulson 5-17), with the hosts replying with 114 for nine (Matthew Blunden 5-33).

Llay lost by eight wickets at Menai Bridge seconds and Hawarden Park got the better of Marchwiel and Wrexham by 65 runs after setting 225 for five (Chris Geary 52no, Phil Bradfield 52). The visitors responded with 161 (Tom Norris 3-16).

Connah’s Quay struck 152 (Josh Clarke 45) prior to Bethesda’s 156 for four (Ben Parker 52, Darren Leach 3-39).


Division Two: Brymbo 2nds 219-6 Mold 2nds 102; Buckley 2nds 110 St Asaph 2nds 113-2; Gresford 2nds 167-5 Hawarden Park 2nds 163-8; Llanrwst 222-6 Carmel & District 100; Mochdre 2nds 148-7 Bersham 147-9; Pontblyddyn 2nds 187-7 Bangor 2nds 185-7.

Division Three: Connah’s Quay 2nds 127 Denbigh 2nds 137; Corwen 141-4 Conwy 2nds 139-7; Llandudno 2nds 212-2 Gwersyllt Park 2nds 211-4; Ruthin 147-3 Mynydd Isa & Maeshafn 146-7.

Division Four: Carmel & District 2nds 41-8 Halkyn 2nds 42-1; Hawarden Park 3rds 96 Pwllheli 206; Marchwiel and Wrexham 2nds 106-6 Llanrwst 2nds 104.