JAKE JAMES struck a 53-ball unbeaten 102 to lead Gwersyllt Park to a 143-run victory over Marchwiel and Wrexham that saw them crowned Division Two champions.

Ethan McCarthy (64) and Scott Watkins (42) had helped Gwersyllt to 120 for two before James took over, the top order batsman hitting 21 fours in his eye-catching innings.

Captain Lee Beer then joined James at the crease, hitting a 32-ball 78, which included 11 fours and three sixes, the duo putting on 165 for the fourth wicket as Gwersyllt posted 330 for four.

Michael Forgrave (72) and Nick Husbands (48) were in the runs for Marchwiel, but they lacked support from elsewhere as James Collier pocketed 3-30 to bowl the visitors out for 187 and secure Gwersyllt the title.

Who will clinch the runners-up spot behind Gwersyllt is still unknown with Ruthin, Carmel and District and Mynydd Isa all in with a shot.

Ruthin moved second in the table with a crucial three-wicket win at Mynydd Isa.

Carl Jutson (38) and Paul Kearney (34) were in the runs as Isa were bowled out for 158.

Tim Brockley then claimed 4-34 to give Isa hope of victory, but 66 from Matthew Duckworth did the damage as Ruthin triumphed with 26 balls to spare.

Ruthin, who have completed their league fixtures, are eight points clear of Carmel and District and 13 ahead of Isa, who both have one game remaining.

Halkyn picked up only their second win of the season as they overcame Buckley by 38 runs.

Ben Roberts (82), Graeme Settle (45) and Timothy Davies (36) combined as Halkyn scored 197, which could have been a bigger total had Lee Taylor not bagged 5-31.

Sam Evans hit 77 at the top of the order for Buckley, but Roberts (3-15) and Mason Andrews (2-39) were in the wickets as the home side finished on 159 for eight.

Gresford Seconds wrapped up the Second XI Premier Division title courtesy of an eight-wicket win at Denbigh Seconds.

Matt Daulby (3-11), Ross Willets (3-30) and Harry Morris (2-33) impressed as Gresford bowled Denbigh out for 130.

David Baker (48no) and Henry Makins (43no) then combined to see Gresford home inside 26 overs.

At the other end of the table, rock-bottom Buckley Seconds picked up their first win of the season as they beat Hawarden Park Seconds by 55 runs.

Rocco Franco (31), Andrew Massey (30) and Samuel Jones (26no) were in the runs as Buckley posted 166 for nine, Clarkson McLeod with 3-19 and Adam Cross taking 2-31.

Adam Shaw then took 4-26, including the wickets of Anthony Salisbury (25) and Cross (20), before Jack Williams claimed 3-0 to bowl Hawarden out for 111.

Pontblyddyn Seconds held their nerve to record a six-run home win over Northop Seconds.

Nick Thomas top scored with 83 as Pontblyddyn posted 205 for seven, a total which proved just enough, despite Scott Oates' 86, as Aled Roberts (4-28) and Harry Williams (3-60) combined.

Brymbo Seconds (132-5) were also winners as they overcame Menai Bridge Seconds (131) by five wickets, Wayne Smith (3-23) and Will Smith (3-44) impressing with the ball.

Marchwiel and Wrexham Seconds (85-2) were eight-wicket winners over Rhewl (83-7) in the Second XI East Division, while Gwersyllt Park Seconds, Connah's Quay Seconds and Mold Seconds claimed walkover wins as Castell Alun, Ruthin Seconds and Halkyn Seconds failed to raise teams.