Dozens of schools have closed their doors after snow continued to fall across Wrexham overnight.

In total, 46 schools across the county are shut today as the period of wintry weather carried on.

Temperatures remained below freezing and snow fell consistently through the night, leaving schools with no option but to close.

The following schools will not be open today:

  • St Mary's Aided, Brymbo
  • Ysgol Plas Coch CP, Wrexham
  • Black Lane CP, Pentre Broughton
  • Tanyfron CP
  • St Josephs Catholic & Anglican High Sch, Wrexham
  • Ysgol Penrhyn, New Broughton CP
  • Ysgol Morgan Llwyd, Wrexham
  • Ysgol Bodhyfryd CP, Wrexham
  • Gwersyllt Community Primary School
  • St Mary's Catholic Primary, Wrexham
  • Madras Voluntary Aided, Penley
  • Eyton Voluntary Controlled
  • Ysgol Maes Y Mynydd, Rhos
  • Brynteg CP
  • Ysgol Bro Alun, Gwersyllt
  • Ysgol I.D. Hooson CP, Rhos
  • Penygelli CP School, Coedpoeth
  • St Giles VC Church in Wales Primary, Wrexham
  • Ysgol Rhostyllen, Rhostyllen
  • St Mary's Voluntary Aided, Overton on Dee
  • St Mary's Church in Wales, Ruabon
  • St Paul's Voluntary Aided Primary School, Isycoed
  • Rhosymedre Community Primary School
  • Acrefair CP School
  • Bronington Voluntary Aided
  • Ysgol Min y Ddol CP, Cefn Mawr
  • Minera Voluntary Aided School
  • Borderbrook School
  • Ysgol Bryn Tabor, Coedpoeth
  • Alexandra CP School, Wrexham
  • Ysgol Yr Hafod, Johnstown
  • Ysgol y Waun, Chirk
  • Ysgol Cefn Mawr, Cefn Mawr
  • St Christopher's School, Wrexham
  • Holt CP
  • Pentre Voluntary Controlled, Chirk
  • Garth CP
  • Froncysyllte CP
  • Ysgol Rhiwabon High School, Ruabon
  • Ysgol y Grango, Rhos
  • Penycae Community Primary
  • Pontfadog CP
  • Bwlchgwyn CP
  • Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog CP
  • Ysgol Maes y Llan CP, Ruabon

The full list of schools which are closed and those which remain open can be found at