WREXHAM AFC players are set to feature in a 7-aside football event in America this summer.

The Soccer Tournament (TST), the 7v7 event with a $1 million winner-take-all prize, is once again being played in Cary, NC from June 5-10 this year.

The club participated in the event last year as the Red Dragons made the round of 16 in the inaugural event.

Wrexham’s entry last year included a mix of first-teamers, legends, and friends of the club, including goalkeeper Mark Howard, current Wrexham first-team coach David Jones, and former star striker Lee Trundle, among others.

Jones will return to TST to manage the Wrexham Red Dragons in 2024. The Red Dragons’ roster will once again include club legends as well as some first-team players and guests.

As well as the men's team returning, the club confirmed they will be entering a women's side, making them the first professional team to be represented in both TST events.

Wrexham AFC Women, meanwhile, make their debut at the tournament as part of the new-for-2024 women’s bracket. The team will include stars of the Genero Adran Premier team, as featured in Welcome to Wrexham alongside guest players.

Wrexham AFC Director, Shaun Harvey, said: “We look forward to returning to The Soccer Tournament for a second year.

“Last year’s tournament saw the club make its US debut, and it was a great experience to welcome supporters to watch the Wrexham Red Dragons – as well as seeing the team create memorable moments on the pitch, such as our ‘Target Score Time’ win in our opening game against Como 1907.

“We’re pleased to have the opportunity to now bring Wrexham AFC Women to The Soccer Tournament too, for their US debut, and we look forward to seeing both teams out on the pitch in June.”


TST founder and CEO Jon Mugar added: "Wrexham's involvement in 2023 helped put TST on the map and resulted in our event selling out.

"They are undoubtedly America's team and understand the spirit of our festival as well as anyone."

TST will take place at WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary, North Carolina from June 5-10.

Both the men’s and women’s events will conclude in a winner-take-all championship doubleheader on June 10, with a total of $2M in prize money being awarded.