A Police Inspector has scooped a second award for the impact her work has had on the streets of Wrexham.

The Leader reported in September how Inspector Claire McGrady, North Wales Police’s Violence Against Women and Girls tactical delivery manager, received a national award for her leadership work in helping to tackle violence against women and girls in the city.

She was one of a number of officers and staff who picked up awards at the Wales Safer Communities Awards ceremony in Swansea last week.

The event, hosted by the Wales Safer Communities Network, was the first to be held to celebrate the work of projects, partnerships and people actively making communities safer across Wales.

The Leader: Insp McGrady (NWP)Insp McGrady (NWP) (Image: NWP)Of the fourteen award categories, North Wales Police officers won four, including modern slavery and exploitation; violence against women, domestic abuse and sexual violence; crime prevention; and offending and justice.

Inspector McGrady won the violence against women, domestic abuse, and sexual violence category for her work - which has led to a marked increase in reported serious sexual offences.

The crime prevention category was won by the force's recently launched We Don’t Buy Crime team, represented by Sergeant Sue Carrington, for its approach on reducing the benefits of theft, burglary, robbery - and crime to offenders.

North Wales Police Law enforcement first response and investigation team, PC Eryl Lloyd, DC Sean Harrison, DC Stuart Goldsack and staff officer Anne-Marie Fisher, received the joint first prize for the offending and justice category for their work on Operation Spinel - an investigation into a series of residential burglaries in Conwy and Denbighshire in February.

The Leader: Sgt David Buckley, DI Richard Sidney, Sgt Kiera Williams & DC Stuart GoldsackSgt David Buckley, DI Richard Sidney, Sgt Kiera Williams & DC Stuart Goldsack (Image: NWP)And the central area Priority Crime Team, made up of Insp Richard Sidney, Sgt Kiera Williams, DC Stuart Goldsack, Sgt David Buckley, DC Andrew Etches, Sgt Arron Hughes, PC Michelle Allsup, Sgt Catherine Hampson, PC Sharon Thorogood, Sgt Andrew Symonds-Roberts, PC Dale Cassidy, DC Chris Wynne, DC Hayley Pearson, DC Claire Owen, DC Jennifer Sansom, Anne Marie Fisher and Richard Kelsall won the overall Wales Safer Communities Award at the event for their work on Operation Tylluan.

North Wales Police Chief Constable Amanda Blakeman said: “Congratulations to all the officers and staff whose hard work was recognised at this year’s inaugural Wales Safer Communities Awards.

“I am immensely proud of all our winners and their exceptional work that has been highlighted as part of these awards, which has undoubtedly contributed to our area becoming a safer place to work, live and visit.

“These accolades highlight their concerted efforts to deliver for our communities on the basics of fighting, reducing, and preventing crime, and providing an excellent service to victims by tackling the issues that really matter to our community, such as violence against women, rural crime and acquisitive crime.

The Leader: Sergeant Sue Carrington (NWP)Sergeant Sue Carrington (NWP) (Image: NWP)“They each have set many examples of accountability and having a tenacious approach to solving problems.

“The subsequent imprisonment of the prolific offenders at the heart of some of these investigations have also undoubtedly contributed to safer communities across North Wales.

“By working together with partners, we can share strengths, resources and expertise to find innovative and long-term solutions to creating safer neighbourhoods.”

North Wales Police and Crime Commissioner Andy Dunbobbin said: “I would like to congratulate all the officers and staff from North Wales Police who both won and were nominated for awards at this year’s inaugural Wales Safer Communities Network Awards.

“Their success is testament to the dedication to duty, and innovation in the fight against crime, shown at all levels throughout the Force.

“I know that the people of North Wales are all grateful for their hard work and effort to keep us all secure.

“I would also like to thank Wales Safer Communities Network for hosting these awards and for recognising the importance of celebrating the work of projects, partnerships and people who are actively making communities safer across Wales.”