MOLD Town Council has elected its new mayor for 2022/23.

Councillor Haydn Jones takes over from Councillor Sarah Taylor - who presented him with the mayoral chain by retiring at the Annual General Meeting on Monday (May 16).

Councillor Teresa Carberry was elected as deputy mayor for the forthcoming year. Councillor Carberry, who was Mayor in 2019-2020, said she was delighted to have been re-elected as deputy mayor as her Mayoral term was unfortunately an unusual and difficult year as the country went into lock-down - and she herself was required to shield throughout most of that year.

Councillor Haydn Jones said: “I am delighted to be elected as Mayor of Mold, it is extra special for me as I have lived in Mold all my life, having the privilege of receiving my education in Ysgol Glanrafon and Mold Alun before joining the family business.

"I would like to thank Sarah, our outgoing mayor, for her advice and guidance and I will endeavour to carry out my duties in the same manner as she has during the last twelve months."

He added: "As previous mayors have done, during my year in office I will endeavour to raise awareness and funds for my chosen charities and organisations as part of the town council’s ‘Save a Life, Make a Difference’ appeal. This year the appeal will be supporting Mold Community Hospital League of Friends, Mold Alex Football Club and North Wales Bowel Cancer Support Group. I will also continue the work our former mayor has done promoting our great town as much as possible as it really is a wonderful place to live, work and enjoy.”

Retiring mayor, Sarah Taylor, said: “As I end my year as mayor I just wanted to express my heartfelt thanks to everyone I have managed to meet during this year, Mold is a fantastic place to live, work, operate a business and relax. I have had a really busy year and have been welcomed at every event, I have attended or hosted.

"I am passionate about Mold, it is my home town and a very special place to live, made all the more special by the fabulous community that we have. This was demonstrated recently by the huge response to the donations that we collected in 48 hours for the Ukraine appeal, it was truly overwhelming the generosity and spirit that was apparent from our community.

"I would like to thank my friends, family and my work colleagues for their support throughout the year, and also the fabulous staff that we have at the town hall.”

During the Mayoral reception, which was held in the Daniel Owen Centre, councillors Jones and Taylor presented retiring councillors with a plaque to commemorate their time serving the Mold community;

  • Councillor Anthony Parry member of Mold Town Council 2012-2022
  • Councillor Gareth Williams member of Mold Town Council 2012-2022

The Leader: Retiring councillor Gareth Williams receives his plaque. Retiring councillor Gareth Williams receives his plaque.

  • Councillor Karen Hodgkinson member of Mold Town Council 2017-2022

The Leader: Retiring Mold councillor Karen Hodgkinson Retiring Mold councillor Karen Hodgkinson

  • Councillor Trevor Arnold member of Mold Town Council 2018-2022
  • Councillor Andrea Mearns who served on Mold Town Council from 2004-2022.