ALYN and Deeside remains red after Labour fought to keep its long-standing seat.

After an extremely close count, Mark Tami was re-elected to serve as he has done since 2001.

The count was so close the first time around that a recount was ordered to confirm the results.

Then a bundle count was ordered due to an error, so third time lucky, the results were announced.

There was cheers all around when it was announced that Mark Tami would continue his 18 years of representing the constituency.

His victory meant that Labour avoided a whitewash in North Wales after earlier losing their seats in Delyn, Wrexham, Clwyd South, Vale of Clwyd and Ynys Môn.

The count was held at the Sports Hall in Deeside's Coleg Cambria, where it was unknown whether Labour would retain its seat or take a surprising turn of events and turn blue - which would be the first time for Alyn and Deeside.

Speaking to the Leader on his win, Mark Tami said: “I was obviously very pleased with the result, it was a very close result, we had three recounts.

“But overall it’s really been a very bad night for Labour as a whole and in North Wales.”

Over 43,100 voters braved the cold weather conditions to make sure their voice was heard, with a turnout of 68.68 per cent. However, this was down compared to the 71 per cent in 2017.

Despite controversy over Brexit and the NHS, Tami managed to secure his seat in Parliament, the only Labour candidate in the area.

Despite starting the night with uncertainty, as exit polls suggested a 95 per cent change, the result did not tally with local supporters on the ground, as they once again backed their Labour MP with 18, 258 votes.

Mark Tami was up against Conservative Sanjoy Sen, Liberal Democrat Donna Louise Lalek, Plaid Cymru Susan Hills and Brexit Party Simon Wall.

Alyn and Deeside has always been a predominantly Labour area since its creation in 1983 and has seen Mark Tami as MP since 2001, his predecessor Barry Jones.

In 2017, Mr Tami won his seat with 52.1 per cent (23,315) of the votes with a turnout of 71 per cent. It was announced he had increased his majority.

This year he has The Alyn and Deeside constituency had a majority vote for Leave during the EU referendum with 58.5 per cent - and questions were raised whether Mr Tami would secure his seat during the 2019 election.