COED TALON B are top of Division One of the Deeside Veterans League after a 7-3 victory over Mancot.

Jeffery Pugh (21-4) and Alan Nevett (21-6) were their top blocks while team-mates and champions, Coed Talon A lost 7-3 at Treuddyn A where John Ellis (21-7) and Steve Edge (21-9) starred.

Phil Holmes (21-9) led Caerwys A to a 7-3 victory over Broughton A while Hawkesbury A drew 4-4 with Aston A but won the aggregate by three points.

Northop Hall A were also 6-4 winners against Connah’s Quay A, Carol Russell (21-2) and Barrie Buxton (21-7) securing the win.

Gladstone C are top of Division Two after a 7-3 win at Aston B, Bill Williams (21-3) their top block

Carmel A beat Aston C 6-4 while Penyffordd A team beat their B team 7-3. Harry Grimshaw-Smith (21-4) was the best for the A team with David Dykes (21-4) replying.

Hawkesbury B edged out Broughton B 6-4 thanks to Ian Coppack (21-6) and Graham Pryce (21-7).

Jim Cheetham (21-6) was the best reply for Broughton.

Flint A are top of Division Three after a 7-3 away win at Connah’s Quay B. Bryn Jones (21-2) and Fran Spencer (21-6) were the best for Flint with Ray Lamb (21-9) hitting back.

Castell Alun Hope beat Argoed B 7-3, with Tony Jones (21-6) on top form. And Mancot A were also 7-3 winners against Halkyn A.

Flint C were also 7-3 winners against Oakenholt A. Chris Jones (21-0), Richard Edwards (21-6) and Phil Leddy (21-8) were the best for Flint. Jim Thomas (21-7) was the best reply for Oakenholt.

Newly-promoted Greenfield are top of Division Four after an 8-2 away win at Flint B. George Williams (21-8) was the best for the leaders.

Mike Evans (21-7) secured the aggregate for Caerwys B to win 6-4 against Argoed A.

Ben Bowes (21-7) and Keith Burrows (21-7) led Penyffordd C to a 7-3 victory over Northop Hall B.

Nercwys beat New Brighton B 8-2 while Oakenholt B are top of Division Five after a 8-2 win over Broughton C. Maureen Jones (21-5) and Gwyneth Lea (21-7) were the best for Oakenholt. Barbara Roby (21-9) and Sylvia Smith (21-9) replied.

Gladstone B beat their A team rivals 9-1. Malcolm Bartley (21-7), Ken Robb (21-8), Robin Gillham (21-8), Sancia Evans (21-9) and Barbara Foulkes (21-9) were the best for the B team.

Ted Wood was the lone winner for the A team preventing the whitewash.

Cilcain B won 7-3 at Halkyn B. Hugh Smith (21-6) was the best for Cilcain as Tony Henson (21-8) replied.

Mancot C edged out Airbus B 6-2, Ron Lammond’s 21-9 card proving crucial.

Carmel B were also 6-4 aggregate winners at Rhydymwyn B, Bob Hughes and John Brace both recording 21-5 victories.