SEB MORRIS is setting himself another championship challenging campaign in what promises to be an exciting motorsport season.

Little more than a week removed from the headline-grabbing news of 23-year-old Welshman Morris’ deal to race in British GT this year, the Chester driver also now adds a Pro-Am title bid in Endurance Cup at the wheel of a brand new Bentley Continental GT3 with Leicestershire’s Team Parker.

After a sensational debut season in the pan-European championship last year, where he achieved two Pro-Am class podiums as team-mate to Derek Pierce, the BRDC Superstar and Motorsport UK ‘Team UK’ driver is elated to be continuing the partnership.

“I’m mega excited to be back in Blancpain for a second season with Team Parker, it’s great to be back and especially with the new Bentley Continental as well,” said Morris.

“It’s obviously fantastic to be working with Derek again. We did a good job last year in our first season. We had a couple of podiums and missed out on a couple of wins to be honest. We can learn from last year, put that experience into practice and hopefully mount a very strong challenge with the new car. It’s more developed, better on fuel and, generally, an all-round better package so confidence is definitely high.”

Morris will compete in four of the five Endurance events this year while the Welshman will partner Callum MacLeod and Rodrigo Baptista as a ‘Pro’ entry in the Spa-Francorchamps classic in one of a quartet of works entries from Bentley in the marque’s 100th anniversary year.

Morris’ first outing of the year with Team Parker, meanwhile, comes today at Paul Ricard in France where the Endurance Cup competitors are embarking on a two-day official pre-season test. The first race of the season will take place on April 14 in Monza.

Formula One will reintroduce a point for the fastest lap during a grand prix, starting with Sunday’s season-opening race in Australia.

The FIA said the extra point will only be gained if the driver is classified in the top 10, while a point will also be awarded to the constructor of the driver setting the fastest lap.