MORGAN LLWYD under 15s can proudly boast they are the best in Wales.

After coming through seven rounds to reach the the National Finals at The New Saints’ Park Hall ground, the year 10 team lifted the cup after thrashing the Bishop of Llandaff School 4-1.

Centre back Jay Lee was their first half star as his two headers put Llwyd 2-0 up at the break.

George Walters added a third before Cardiff School champions’ Bishop pulled a goal back from the penalty spot.

But Walters had the final say with his second of the game.

Sion Morris, who manages the team alongside Josh Hughes, was full of praise for his side’s performance.

“It was a deserved victory with every player playing their part,” said Morris, who revealed that the Wrexham-based Welsh-speaking school are planning a special celebration for the title-winners.

“Although there were examples of individual brilliance it would be unfair to single out anyone.

“The team performance was simply fantastic and the team fully deserved their trophy.

“As a school we are hugely proud of their achievement this year and the boys fully deserve the recognition that they’ll receive over the next few days.”

Morgan Llwyd conceded only three goals en route to the final and kicked off their title-winning campaign with a 4-0 win over Darland in the second round.

They claimed the best team in Wrexham crown too, beating St Joseph’s 3-0 and Castell Alun 4-0 before a last 16 five-goal thriller against Sur Huw Owen.

That 3-2 victory was followed up by a 2-1 quarter-final triumph over Creuddyn while a superb semi-final performance - a 3-0 win against Swansea-based Ysgol Penyrheol - put them through to the finals.

And Welsh Schools FA organiser Tim Curtis was impressed with Llwyd’s performances and with all the other teams that took part in the two-day event.

“It was an amazing weekend and the standard of football on show was excellent,” said Curtis, who ended up running the line in the U15s final.

The winning squad included Ifan Owen, Jacob Watkin, Kian Evans, Jay Lee, Wil Scott, Josh Marshall, Sean Cole, Iwan Roberts, Gareth Parry, George Walters, Iwan Hardy and Tomos Hughes.

There was no such luck for Llangollen’s Dinas Bran u13s side, who lost out 3-0 to Corpus Christi School in their final.

Dinas Bran had beaten Morgan Llwyd 6-0, Maelor School 3-2, Darland 5-0, Hawarden 2-0, Friars (12-11 on penalties) and Llanidloes 5-0 en route to the final.