BRYMBO and Connah’s Quay remain rooted in the Premier Division relegation zone.

Northop claimed a five-wicket win at second from bottom Brymbo, while Connah’s Quay suffered a 138-run defeat at Gresford.

The Northop trio of James Birch (4-24), Mark Poynton (3-35) and Andy Poynton (2-17) combined to restrict Brymbo to just 127 for nine, Gareth Boyes (45) and Shashika Meistry (32 not out) in the runs.

Thomas Hughes hit 69 at the top of the order in Northop’s reply, while Andy Poynton struck a timely unbeaten 24 to see his side across the line with four overs to spare.

Spinner Boyes was the pick of the Brymbo bowling attack with 3-36.

Connah’s Quay’s wait for victory continued as they were blown away by Gresford, who posted 229 for nine after winning the toss.

Chris Ellwood struck a half century, while captain Daniel Williams (48), Ross Willets (42) and Gareth Bell (39) were also in the runs, despite three wickets apiece from Scott Adams and Martin Burger.

Willets then caused havoc with the ball, bagging 5-15 from 12 overs to help skittle Quay for just 91, Burger top scoring with 29.

Pontblyddyn are still hovering above the drop zone after they suffered an eight-wicket defeat at the hands of Bangor.

Ben Mason led from the front for Pontblyddyn with 66, while a series of contributions - the main one from Ali Roberts (32) helped the visitors post 206 for six.

But that total proved far too small as David Winter struck an unbeaten century and Nadeem Rehman hit 61 not to lead Bangor to victory with 68 balls to spare.

Matthew Jones (4-10) and Jack Rimmington (3-10) shone as Llandudno (112) defeated Denbigh (48) by 64 runs, while Luke Jones’ 93 went without reward as Menai Bridge (216) lost by one-wicket to Mochdre (217-9) and Pwllheli (205) beat St Asaph (195) by 10 runs.

Gwersyllt Park made light work of hosts Carmel as they secured a five-wicket Division One win.

Extras top scored with 22 as Carmel were bowled out for just 67, Neil Pearson and Shaun Hughes taking three wickets apiece.

Gwersyllt then made their way to 68 for five in reply, James Collier finishing unbeaten on 24.

Hawarden Park made it back-to-back victories with a 48-run home success over Llanrwst,

Captain Adam Cross struck an unbeaten 48 after David Hughes (26) and Jamie Brailsford (21) had got Hawarden off to a steady start, the hosts posting 154 for eight, despite four wickets apiece from Leon Doran and Alwyn Williams.

Mike Wootton then picked up 3-10 from nine overs as Llanrwst’s reply faltered, but 60 from Scott Thomas steadied things.

But once he went Llanrwst collapsed in a heap, Tom Norris bagging 5-44, including a hat-trick, as the visitors finished 106 all out.

Mold slipped to a 92-run defeat at Bethesda, who took control by posting 231 for three.

George Deniz then top scored with 32 for Mold, who saw a number of batsmen unable to kick on after solid starts to their innings as they slumped to 139 all out.

Dolgellau (136-3) were seven-wicket winners over Abergele (135-9), while Conwy continued their title push with victory at Ruthin.


Premier Division: Bangor 207-2, Pontblyddyn 206-6; Brymbo 127-9, Northop 128-5; Gresford 229-9, Connah’s Quay 91; Llandudno 112, Denbigh 48; Menai Bridge 216, Mochdre 217-9; Pwllheli 205, St Asaph 195. Division One: Bethesda 231-3, Mold 139; Carmel and District 67, Gwersyllt Park 68-5; Dolgellau 136-3, Abergele 135-9; Hawarden Park 154-8, Llanrwst 106; Ruthin 77. Conwy 93.

Division Two: Halkyn 191-0, Menai Bridge 2nds 91; Marchwiel and Wrexham 130, Bangor 2nds 131-3; Mochdre 2nds, Corwen (Corwen conceded); Northop 2nds 298-3, Brymbo 2nds 154-7.

Division Three: Abergele 2nds 201-6, Pwllheli 2nd 71; Mold 2nds 106, St Asaph 2nds 107-2; Mynydd Isa and Maeshafn 2nds 56, Carmel 2nds 59-4.

Division Four: Caernarfon 33-0, Llandudno 2nds 29; Conwy 2nds, Marchwiel 2nds (Marchwiel conceded); Llangollen 116-5, Bethesda 2nds 115-7; Llanrwst 2nds 56-3, Halkyn 55; Rhewl 115-7, Ruthin 2nds 116-4.