NORTHOP proved themselves to be the kings of Flintshire as they cruised to a 117-run Premier Division success over Connah's Quay.

Having seen off Pontblyddyn on the opening day, Northop went about beating Connah's Quay by posting 219 for seven from a rain reduced 35 overs.

A third-wicket partnership of 111 from Ammar Mahmood (67) and Tom Blackwell (66) did most of the damage for Northop, who also saw opener Alex Gill hit 40.

Crucially, Quay - chasing a revised total of 225 - lost Martin Burger, who claimed 3-30 with the ball, and David Fox with the score on 32, and from then on the writing was on the wall.

Rhys Stout hit 44 before being run-out, but wickets fell regularly - Mahmood claiming 4-30 and Andy Poynton and James Birch with two scalps apiece - as Quay's innings concluded on 107.

Pontblyddyn claimed another key victory in their quest to avoid an instant return to the second-tier as they beat Pwllheli by 30 runs.

Ali Roberts struck a half century and Ben Mason added 47 - the duo involved in an 89-run partnership - as Pont posted 145 for seven having been asked to bat first.

Rhys Jones then took centre stage for Pont as he bagged 4-15, and with Ed Jones claiming 3-38, Pwllheli bowled out for having been 76 for four.

There were familiar failings as Brymbo were beaten by eight wickets at the hands of visiting St Asaph.

Runs have been hard to come by for the Wrexham-based side this season, and so it proved once again as James Claybrook's men were skittled for just 87, extras contributing 29.

Despite taking the wicket of Duncan Midgley with St Asaph yet to score, Brymbo were powerless to prevent the away side wrapping up a comfortable win.

Gresford also suffered a third loss of the season as they were beaten by six wickets at Bangor.

Only Matthew Thompson (42) and Chris Ellwood (38) troubled the scorers as Gresford were bowled out for 133, Owen Reilly (5-26) and Franco Kasner (4-22) doing the damage.

Bangor needed all but 19 balls of their reply to get over the line as Daniel Williams and John Bell took two wickets apiece, Nadeem Rehman seeing his side home with an unbeaten 40.

Denbigh are the new leaders after they claimed a seven-wicket home win over Mochdre, who were bowled out for 122.

Harrison Jones added an unbeaten half century to his 4-19 for Denbigh.

Danial Evans hit 77 and claimed three wickets as Llandudno (211) overcame reigning champions Menai Bridge (193) by 18 runs.

Carmel and District found the going tough as they suffered a 123-run defeat at the hands of Bethesda in Division One.

The home side were powerless to prevent Bethesda from posting 195 for four as Carwyn Williams and Jonathan Williams struck half centuries.

Aside from Dafydd Bailey's 28 at the top of the order, no Carmel batsman troubled the scorers as they were bundled out for just 72, Kevin Evans claiming 6-18.

Conwy and Dolgellau wasted little time in claiming comfortable victories over Abergele and Ruthin.

Having bowled Abergele out for 49, Conwy cruised to 53 for one to secure a nine-wicket win, while Dolgellau eased to 56 without loss after bowling Ruthin out for 55.

Hawarden Park's title challenge was frustrated by the weather once more as their scheduled trip to Llay Welfare was cancelled.


Premier Division: Bangor 134-4, Gresford 133; Brymbo 87, St Asaph 88-2; Denbigh 124-3, Mochdre 122; Menai Bridge 193, Llandudno 211; Northop 219-7, Connah's Quay 107; Pontblyddyn 145-7, Pwllheli 115.

Division One: Carmel and District 72, Bethesda 195-4; Conwy 53-1, Abergele 49; Dolgellau 56-0, Ruthin 55.

Division Two: Buckley 35, Halkyn 173-6; Marchwiel and Wrexham 81, Menai Bridge 2nds 134.

Division Three: Hawarden Park 2nds, Carmel 2nds (Carmel conceded); Mold 2nds 62-9, Denbigh 2nds 61; St Asaph 2nds 45-0, Pontblyddyn 2nds 43.

Division Four: Ruthin 2nds144-5, Marchwiel and Wrexham 2nds 120-6.