NORTH WALES LEAGUE players can start planning their summer of action after the new-look fixtures were confirmed.

The fixtures are not part of a league or competition, but to facilitate clubs in playing organised cricket.

Matches will be 40 overs per side, although that is open to negotiation between teams should a reduced fixture be desired, with a 12pm start time due to the required hygiene breaks.

Fixtures can be rearranged if necessary to suit both teams, while loans are available to ensure that clubs are able to fulfil matches.

First and second teams have been split into six groups with each club playing seven matches, starting on Saturday and finishing on September 19.

Group B comprises of Flintshire trio Northop, Hawarden Park and Pontblyddyn, Wrexham-based quartet Brymbo, Gresford, Gwersyllt Park and Llay Welfare with Denbigh completing the eight.

On the opening weekend, there’s a derby clash as Brymbo host Gresford, Hawarden Park head to Denbigh, Gwersyllt Park entertain Pontblyddyn and Llay Welfare visit Northop.

Group C also has plenty of interest with the Flintshire quintet of Carmel and District, Halkyn, Connah’s Quay, Buckley and Mold battling it out with Marchwiel and Wrexham, Ruthin and Abergele.

The other first team pool, Group A, is made up of Bangor, St Asaph, Llandudno, Bethesda, Menai Bridge, Conwy, Pwllheli and Mochdre.

Menai Bridge 2nds, Pwllheli 2nds, Mochdre 2nds, Llandudno 2nds, Conwy 2nds and Bangor 2nds are all in Group D alongside Mynydd Isa & Maeshafn and Dolgellau first teams.

In Group E, there’s a reverse of the Group B fixtures for the eight clubs’ second XIs, while it’s an identical scenario in Group F with Group C’s schedule.

Gresford warmed up for the opening weekend with a 26-run success over Northop Hall.

Daniel Williams’ men posted 181 all out from their 40 overs, opener Joe Benson top scoring with a 60-ball 54 and the likes of Matthew Thompson (30) and Chris Ellwood (27) making contributions as Jac Kennedy took 3-42.

Kennedy also struck 34 and Josh Andrady hit 36 in Hall’’s reply, which was restricted to 155 for seven as Cam Evans and Adam Khan claimed two wickets apiece.

The full 2020 season schedule can be found at