RHOSTYLLEN were left breathing a sigh of relief as they made the cut in the Football Association of Wales’ tier three restructure.

The Wrexham-based outfit were sweating on their future involvement in the FAW’s new-look tier three after being docked 54 points.

Rhostyllen were found guilty of breaching FAW Rule 68 regarding the registration of top scorer Tom Douglas, the points deduction leaving them rock-bottom of the Welsh National League Premier Division and facing an uncertain future at that level.

But Warren Duckett’s men were one of 64 clubs - from a possible 84 - to be handed a spot in tier tier, Rhostyllen taking their place in the North East.

Boss Duckett was delighted with the news, tweeting: “Happy with yesterday’s tier three announcement!! It’s a pleasure to be manager of @RhostyllenFC it will be good to go back to some top clubs I have played for to see some old faces @DenbighTownFC, @CPDPorthmadogFC and @CPDLlanuwchllyn!! Hard work starts now!!”

The FAW released the following statement after they revealed the make up of the four division tier tier. It read: “Of the 84 clubs who were successful in attaining tier three certification, six clubs; Holyhead Hotspur, Holywell Town, Llanidloes Town, Port Talbot Town, Risca United and Trefelin BGC have been promoted to tier two. In addition, three clubs; Bangor 1876, Builth Wells and Hawarden Rangers applied for vacancies at tier three.

“The remaining 75 clubs all applied for tier three certification as per the FAW Pyramid Regulations and were allocated places in the new tier three Leagues based on sporting merit and geographical location.

“In addition, the National League Board considered one of the key objectives of the FAW Pyramid Review to provide two predominantly northern leagues and two predominantly southern leagues within the tier three structure.

“The NLB would like to congratulate all clubs that were successful in reaching the tier three standard.”

The FAW also confirmed that the name and the new brand for tier three football in Wales will be released “in due course”.

But for now, Rhostyllen are joined by fellow former Welsh National League sides Brickfield Rangers, Brymbo, Llanuwchllyn, Llay Welfare, Mold Alex, Rhydymwyn and Saltney Town in the North East.

Joining those eight teams are seven former Welsh Alliance clubs in the shape of Blaenau Amateurs, Denbigh Town, Nantlle Vale, Llandudno Albion, Llanrwst, St Asaph City and Y Felinheli, as well as Porthmadog, who were relegated from the Cymru North.

Corwen and Llanfair United, also relegated from the Cymru North, are to take their place in the North East alongside former Welsh National League sides Cefn Albion, Chirk AAA, Penycae and Rhos Aelwyd.

Joining those six are former Mid Wales League teams Berriew, Bow Street, Caersws, Carno, Four Crosses, Kerry, Machynlleth, Montgomery Town, Penparcau and Welshpool Town