WREXHAM will be represented in the South Wales Premier Cricket League this year.

Former Brymbo ace David Lloyd and ex-Marchwiel and Wrexham youngster Roman Walker have been allocated to Swansea by Glamorgan.

Newly-promoted Swansea have been handed Lloyd, who will captain Glamorgan in the One-Day Cup, Walker, set for his first outing in the South Wales Premier League, and Billy Root, brother of England skipper Joe.

Glamorgan’s director of cricket, Mark Wallace said: “We see the South Wales Premier Cricket League and club cricket as vital to the long-term future of Glamorgan and Welsh cricket, and we’re happy to help strengthen the league and the clubs with our players.

“It’s a win-win for everyone – our players get to play extra cricket, some of them can represent their home clubs that nurtured and developed them, and the players can give back to the communities.

“The opposition get to face stronger players and the overall standard of cricket will continue to increase, which can only be a good thing for Welsh cricket.”

There are another 21 players allocated to the other nine sides in the South Wales League.

Dan Douthwaite, Charlie Hemphrey, Joe Cooke, Jamie McIlroy and Tom Cullen are the other Glamorgan players new to the division.

Hemphrey will join local lad Ruaidhri Smith at St Fagans, with Cooke set to play for Mumbles alongside Timm van der Gugten and Graham Wagg.

Jamie McIlroy teams up with Andrew Salter and Marchant de Lange at Ammanford, and Dan Douthwaite heads to Bridgend with incumbent Craig Meschede and new addition Chris Cooke, while Tom Cullen will join Kieran Bull in Neath.