IT was exciting at Lord’s but it was just as dramatic at Tan-y-fron as Brymbo and Pontblyddyn were battling it out for Premier Division survival.

With Pontblyddyn virtually down and out at 77 for eight. Moss took it in his own hands to try and rescue the game and his side’s season.

Smashing seven sixes, Moss ended unbeaten on 71 as Pont got to 148 for nine at the end of their innings.

Gareth Boyes was Brymbo’s best bowler taking 3-21 while Mohammed Jayman caused damage early on with 3-26.

Moss, handed the new ball, took 2-23 and Jonathan Byrd, who had earlier hit 30, landed 2-41 but Brymbo battled their way to 149 for eight thanks to 44 from skipper James Claybrook and 41 from man of the match Boys.

The victory kept Brymbo out of the bottom three with Pont now alongside Connah’s Quay, who will be playing Division One cricket next season as they were second best again at Menai Bridge, who never looked back after winning the toss.

Arwel Thomas (76) top scored in Menai’s 264 for six before Sean O’Callaghan took 5-24 as Quay, who only travelled with 10 men, were bowled out for 98.

Northop would have been disappointed with their total of 195 for five after Alex Gill and Thomas Hughes had put on 85 for the opening partnership.

Gill top scored with 74 and Hughes hit 36 with Bangor’s Franco Kasner taking 4-43.

Leaders Bangor just managed to reach their target, Kasner’s 61 helping them to 199 for eight as Ammar Mahmood took 3-37.

Mochdre are second, 12 points behind the leaders after thrashing Gresford by seven wickets.

Russ Boswell took 6-37 as Matthew Cree (48) and Gareth Bell (33) top scored in the hosts’ 172 for eight. Mochdre easily made it to 173 for three while Denbigh bowled St Asaph out for 114 after putting 194 for nine on the scoreboard.

Pwllheli, who scored 232 for eight, then dismissed Llandudno for 149 to claim maximum points.

Llay Welfare are still the the title chase in Division One after ending Gwersyllt Park’s top spot hopes in the process.

Llay posted 179 for six thanks to their top three, Jack Parry (40), John Lloyd )51) and Chris Woodcock (41).

Ethan McCarthy took all six wickets with impressive figures of 6-43 and was only one of two to reach double figures as Park were skittled for 72.

Nathan Humphrey took 4-21 and Parry 3-31 but Llay remain 12 points behind leaders Conwy, who beat Hawarden Park by 63 runs.

Rajjenu Britto hit 85 in Conwy’s 237 for six and Park, for whom Ian Martin took 3-52, were 174 for eight at the close.

Richard Deniz top scored for Mold with 55 as they posted 173 for six against Dolgellau, who eased to 174 for four.

Alwyn Williams landed 6-23 as he played a big part in skittling Ruthin for 59. Llanrwst eased to 62 for three.

And Bethesda bowled out Abergele for 81 after they had scored 135 for nine.