PONTBLYDDYN boosted their Premier Division relegation concerns with a nervy one-wicket success over rock-bottom Connah’s Quay.

Glenn Chambers’ hosts were cruising towards the 142 needed for a priceless victory at 87 without loss, openers Ali Roberts (48) and Ben Mason (27) in solid form.

But the duo departed in quick succession and the wickets began to tumble as Martin Burger (3-9), Josh Clarke (2-11) and Mali Auty (2-35) turned the screw.

With one wicket remaining and seven runs needed for victory, Pontblyddyn were able to get over the line to move themselves 46 points clear of Connah’s Quay.

Skipper Burger led by example in Quay’s 141 all out as he struck 62, despite three wickets apiece from Chris Moss and James Hughes.

Pontblyddyn are now eight points clear of second from bottom Brymbo, who lost by 24 runs to Llandudno.

Dan Parry and Wayne Smith picked up three wickets apiece, but Llandudno were able to post 252 for six from 40.1 overs.

Brymbo, chasing a revised target of 257 due to rain, came close to producing another crucial win as Gareth Pugh’s 87 saw them to 232 for nine.

Jordan Evans showed his class as he marked his first game of the season with a century in Northop’s 53-run victory over Denbigh.

Evans, who has been sidelined through suspension and work commitments, helped Northop recover from 66 for five to post 208 for eight courtesy of a 98-ball 109, which included 13 fours and three sixes.

After the turnaround it was the Matthew Mullarkey show, the youngster bagging 6-22 as Denbigh were bowled out for 155.

John Bell claimed 5-26 as Gresford returned to winning ways with a convincing nine-wicket success against St Asaph.

Bell had Saints in a spin, and with Chris Ellwood and Ryan Williams taking two wickets apiece, the visitors were bowled out for 108.

Gresford needed just half of their reply to clinch victory as Sam Thompson (42 not out) and captain Dan Williams (41no) impressed.

Bangor stole a march in the title race as they beat reigning champions Menai Bridge by five wickets. David Winter hit 74 as Bangor chased down Menai’s 177 for nine with an over to spare.

Pwllheli (177) picked up a crucial eight-run success at Mochdre (169).

Gwersyllt Park continued their Division One title push with a 53-run home win against Mold.

Lee Beer (42) and Lewis Cole (30) were the main run-makers as Gwersyllt posted 163 for eight, Wes Gillam pocketing 2-30.

And that total proved more than enough as Neil Pearson (4-22) and Michael Griffiths (3-21) helped dismiss Mold for 110, Kieron Coppack hitting 30.

Hawarden Park made it six wins from six with an 88-run triumph at Bethesda, who were skittled for just 33.

Campbell Marr led the way with 3-2 with Mike Wootton, Adam Cross and Ian Martin taking two wickets apiece and 13-year-old James Martin claiming his first senior wicket.

Earlier, Marr top scored with 32 as Hawarden were able to post 121.

Elsewhere, Owen Lynam took 6-34 as Abergele (70-6) defeated Llanrwst (69) by four wickets.

Llay Welfare picked up a five-wicket win over Ruthin, who posted 137-9 as Ethan Griffiths claimed 3-31.

John Lloyd top scored with 34 as Llay won with 11 balls to spare.

Bersham (89-9) were no match for title favourites Conwy (90-5) as the table toppers won by five wickets, while Dolgellau continued their title chase by beating Carmel by the same margin. Carmel were restricted to 162 for six.


Premier Division: Brymbo 232-9, Llandudno 252-6; Gresford 109-1, St Asaph 108; Menai Bridge 177-9, Bangor 178-5; Mochdre 169, Pwllheli 177; Northop 208-8, Denbigh 155; Pontblyddyn 144-9, Connah’s Quay 141.

Division One: Abergele 70-6, Llanrwst 69; Bersham 89-9, Conwy 90-5; Bethesda 33, Hawarden Park 121; Dolgellau 163-5, Carmel and District 162-6; Gwersyllt Park 163-8, Mold 110; Llay Welfare 142-5, Ruthin 137-9.

Division Two: Bangor 2nds 199-7, Llay Welfare 2nds 162-6; Halkyn 153-8, Buckley 92; Marchwiel and Wrexham 201-8, Brymbo 2nds 201-9.

Division Three: Connah’s Quay 2nds 80, Mynydd Isa and Maeshafn 2nds 82-4; Mold 2nds 104-9, Abergele 2nds 103.

Division Four: Conwy 2nds 264-4, Llangollen 160-7; Llandudno 2nds 213-7, Dolgellau 2nds 105; Ruthin 2nds 113, Bethesda 2nds 196-7.