HAWARDEN PARK saw their relegation from the Premier Division confirmed as Brymbo kept their faint title hopes alive with a ruthless 189-run home win.

Captain James Claybrook struck 95, while Greg King hit 71 and Mohamed Nilam Jayman fired a 33-ball 52, before the trio were all stumped as Brymbo posted 275 for eight, David Hughes with 5-73.

The writing was on the wall for Hawarden as they slumped to four for three and 44 for six, before being bowled out for just 86.

Campbell Marr top scored with 46 for Hawarden as Ben Roberts bagged 4-32 to leave the Flintshire side playing Division One cricket next season.

Connah’s Quay failed to themselves or Brymbo a favour as they were beaten by table topping Menai Bridge by 181 runs.

Menai posted 283 for seven after winning the toss against nine-man Connah’s Quay, Luke Jones hitting 96 with Robbie Jones (51) and Gethin Roberts (49) also in the runs.

Quay lost key batsmen Martin Burger and Matt Redinger for a combined total of four runs, before Scott Adams (27) and Darren Jones (26) helped their side to 102.

Burger’s Quay are now 42 points from safety with four matches of the season remaining.

Gresford made it six wins on the bounce as they beat Northop by 115 runs to climb above the Flintshire side and into seventh.

The Wrexham-based outfit moved to within six points of definite safety after scoring 211 for five and bowling Northop, who also look almost certain to survive, out for just 95.

Already relegated Chirk failed to pick up their first win of the season as they were beaten by seven wickets at home to Llandudno.

Having won the toss, Chirk slipped to seven for three and 71 for six, but recovered to post 152 all out, Steve Kelshaw hitting a 44-ball 56 and youngsters Wynn Jones (36) and Frank Macdonald-Brown (22no) in the runs.

Unfortunately Chirk were unable to take early wickets as Daniel Evans (53) and Sam Rimmington (49) broke the back of the run chase, Llandudno winning inside 30 overs.

Denbigh (196-9) are virtually safe after they secured a one-wicket win at Bangor (193), while Pwllheli (226-5) ended any faint hopes St Asaph (200-9) might have had of a late title push by securing a 26-run home success.

Pontblyddyn moved a step closer to the Division One title courtesy of a five-wicket win over rivals Bersham.

A mix of young and old combined with the ball for Pontblyddyn as James Hughes (4-19) and Mark Neath (4-35) bowled Bersham out for just 99, Amith Tilakaratne (23) and Nuwan Amarakoon (22) top scoring.

Nilanka De Silva bagged 3-14 after the turnaround, including the wickets of James Griffiths (26) and Ben Mason (23), but Pontblyddyn needed just 28 overs to secure victory.

Mold’s survival hopes were dealt a blow as their match with fellow strugglers Llanrwst was abandoned.

The Flintshire outfit had posted 144 with Richard Crane (40), Usman Butt (28) and Isaac Allen (25) in the runs.

Dolgellau (190-7) eased their relegation concerns with a three-wicket win over second from bottom Abergele (188)


Premier Division: Brymbo 275-8, Hawarden Park 86; Chirk 152, Llandudno 153-3; Denbigh 196-9, Bangor 193; Gresford 211-5, Northop 95; Menai Bridge 283-7, Connah’s Quay 102-7; Pwllheli 226-5, St Asaph 200-9.

Division One: Abergele 188, Dolgellau 190-7; Llanrwst 0-0, Mold 144 (abandoned); Pontblyddyn 100-5, Bersham 99.

Division Two: Bodedern, Halkyn (Bodedern conceded); Gwersyllt Park 246-8, Buckley 153; Llangollen 79, Carmel and District 83-1; Marchwiel and Wrexham 128, Mynydd Isa 129-2.

Second XI Premier Division: Carmel and District 2nds 179-7, Pontblyddyn 2nds 111; Hawarden Park 2nds 124, Menai Bridge 2nds 127-3; Llay Welfare 2nds 123-6, Brymbo 2nds 119; Mochdre 2nds 237-8, Denbigh 2nds 185-6; Northop 2nds 222-8, Bangor 2nds 206-7.

Second XI East Division: Halkyn 2nds 224-5, Ruthin 2nds 93; Maeshafn Argoed, Connah’s Quay 2nds (CQ conceded).