Wales Students coach Paul Emanuelli has announced a 22-man squad to compete against England, Scotland and Ireland in the Student Home Nations in Pontypridd this July.

The squad, which includes Maelor School student Jacob Hitchcox and will be reduced to 20 just before the tournament starts, comprises players from 15 college institutions throughout Wales and England.

A number of the players, in addition to playing for universities or colleges, also turn out for clubs in the Welsh Premier League.

Emanuelli said: "We’ve selected a 22 man squad and will pick the final 20 going into the Four Nations. However the plan is for all 22 to be there and be a part of it.

"The four reserves I've named in addition are still important to the squad as I learned first hand last year people may well have to pull out through injuries or other reasons.

"I’m really pleased with the make up of the final squad and want to thank everyone who has attended this years programme."

All matches in the 2018 tournament will be played at Sardis Road, Pontypridd from July 17-22.

Wales last won the trophy when they were last hosts – in 2012 – when they beat England 20-18 in a dramatic encounter in Wrexham. They also won the trophy in 2009 in Leeds and in 2004 in Aberavon.

Emanuelli's side will kick-off their tournament against Ireland on July 17, before facing Scotland on July 19 and England three days later.

WALES SQUAD: Macauley Harris, Fraser Stroud (Cardiff and Vale College), James Bartlett (all Cardiff Metropolitan University), Ashley Bateman, Lloyd Bodman, Dafydd Hellard (all Coleg Y Cymoedd), Rhys Gant (Educ8), Morgan Johnson (Ellesmere College), Liam Rice-Wilson (University of Gloucestershire), Conor Harding (Hartpury College), Dewi Billingham (Leeds Beckett University), Aled Davies (Liverpool John Moores University), , Dafydd Rees (Manchester University), Morgan Cross, Rhys Davies, Dylan Evans, Jarad Hinnem, Lloyd Selby Smith (University of South Wales), Tom Seldon (Swansea University), Billy Forrester (West Cheshire College),Ryan Griffiths (Wigan Warriors Sports Education College).

Stand-by: Dafydd Jones (Bangor University), Brandon Aviet, Morgan Cochran, Matthew Morgan (Coleg Y Cymoedd)