AS Flintshire’s own taekwondo legend prepares for this weekend, we’ve put together a handy guide for those unfamiliar with the sport.

Jade Jones OBE has her eyes on a third shiny gold medal to add to her Olympic collection.

This weekend, July 25, she will take on other competitors from around the world in her weight class to see who comes out on top.

With so many sports going on, not everyone will be up to speed on what they need to know about taekwondo.

We have put together this brief fact file that should see you through the Olympic matches this weekend!

What is taekwondo?

Taekwondo – a martial art characterised by punching and kicking techniques – is practised by hundreds of clubs across the UK.

For some 2,000 years, a range of martial arts were practised on the Korean peninsula.

During the early 20th century, taekwondo became the dominant form of martial art practised in Korea.

Subsequently, taekwondo was designated as Korea's national martial art to be promoted internationally.

Taekwondo's first appearance was as a demonstration event at the Summer Olympic Games at Seoul in 1988. It appeared again as a demonstration sport at Barcelona in 1992.

The sport then reappeared at Sydney 2000 and has maintained its full medal sport status to date.

Tokyo 2020 will actually mark the first year that taekwondo will feature at a Paralympic Games, with Team GB sending three top athletes to the summer event.

How do you win?

The aim of taekwondo is for the athlete to kick and punch the opponent, while avoiding being kicked and punched.

All matches last over 3 rounds of 2 minutes with 1 minute break in between.

Points are awarded based on the attacks used in a match.

The most challenging techniques, such as spinning kicks to the head, score higher than punches and basic kicks to the trunk.

Jade’s tendency to aim for head kicks to gather more points has earned her the nickname of ‘Head-hunter’ amongst the sporting world.

This is an example of the point breakdown:

• 1 point for each valid punch to the trunk protector

• 2 points for each valid kick to the trunk protector

• 3 points for each valid kick to the head

• 4 points for each valid turning kick to the trunk protector

• 5 points for each valid turning kick to the head

Tactics also come into play, as penalties are awarded against those players who fall, or who exit the matted area.

How are points awarded?

Taekwondo's Protector and Scoring System, or PSS, was first adopted for Olympic competition at London 2012.

The PSS is a system of electronic impact sensors built into the protective gear of the taekwondo athlete — the sock protector, the trunk protector and the head protector — which is wirelessly linked to the electronic scoreboard. When impact is made with the correct parts of the foot to the opponent's head or trunk, points flash up on the scoreboard automatically.

However, the three corner judges, using handheld scoring devices, still score punches to the trunk and add technical points scored by turning/spinning kicks (which earn extra points, compared to basic kicks).