Wrexham's Ty Pawb missed out on the Art Fund Museum of the Year 2022, after the winner was announced tonight.

The award, which is the largest museum prize in the world, was announced live on The One Show on BBC One, from the Design Museum in London.

BBC 6 DJ and broadcaster Huw Stephens announced the Horniman Museum and Gardens as the winner of the award.

The Art Fund said: "Our judges chose Horniman Museum and Gardens because they have brought together art + nature in one holistic museum, woven their values into everything they do, breathed life into their collections, with new relevance for diverse communities and set the agenda for how a traditional museum can reinvent itself through powerful ideas."

They also congratulated the other museums on reaching the final.

Ty Pawb was one of five museums shortlisted for this year’s prize alongside, Museum of Making (Derby), Horniman Museum and Gardens (London), People’s History Museum (Manchester) and The Story Museum (Oxford).

READ MORE: Leading Wrexham councillors back second City of Culture bid

Prior to the winner being announced, Cllr Hugh Jones, lead member for environment, said: “Being named on such a prestigious shortlist is a phenomenal achievement. The national interest in Tŷ Pawb and Wrexham has grown and grown since the shortlist was first announced back in May, building on what we achieved in our bid to become City of Culture.

“Ty Pawb has been right at the heart of this and has now been nationally recognised as a pioneering example of how to bring arts, markets and communities together in a way that benefits everyone."

READ MORE: Covid blamed as Wrexham's Ty Pawb suffers £111,000 financial loss

The Horniman museum will receive £100,000 for winning the prize, whilst each of the other finalists, including Ty Pawb will receive a £15,000 prize in recognition of their achievements.

The members of this year’s judging panel, chaired by Art Fund Director Jenny Waldman, are Dame Diane Lees, Director-General, Imperial War Museums; Harold Offeh, artist and educator; Dr Janina Ramirez, cultural historian and broadcaster, and Huw Stephens.