CALLS have been made for security measures to be installed in an underpass which provides a link for pedestrians into Wrexham town centre.

It follows concerns being raised over the safety of people who walk through the tunnel, which runs from the old Groves School on Powell Road to by the former police station site.

Community councillors have previously reported issues with drug needles being discarded in the subway, which is in a poor state of repair with peeling paint and graffiti daubed on the walls.

Supermarket chain Lidl has committed to pay £3,500 towards improvements as part of a planning agreement.

It comes after the retailer began work to create a new store on land recently made vacant by the demolition of the high-rise police station building.

Becca Martin, who is standing to become the next county councillor for the area where the underpass is located, said she believes the money should be spent on security lighting and CCTV cameras.

The Plaid Cymru candidate for Maesydre said: “The underpass was closed for some time due to safety concerns.

“It’s now been opened again but it’s a very unwelcoming route, especially for women on their own.

“As we emerge from the pandemic over the coming months, I think we need to see it better security to enable people to get across the road more safely.

“In normal times, Powell Road is a very busy four-lane road and difficult for anyone with mobility issues or pushing a buggy to cross safely.”

She added: “The underpass needs work before it’s fully functioning again.

“My suggestion is for a community-led clean-up, improved security lighting and – crucially – CCTV to provide reassurance for people using the path.”

Wrexham Council, which is responsible for the maintenance of the tunnel, has been asked to comment on whether it has any plans to carry out improvements.

A by-election was triggered in Maesydre after Labour councillor Paul Jones decided to step down for family reasons last year.

The other candidates standing to replace him when polls open on March 18th are Catherine Brown (Conservative), Roger Davies (Liberal Democrats), Clive Graham Ray (Independent) and Tom Stanford (Labour).