THREE applications have been made to Sealand Community Council from members of the public wishing to become new councillors.

There are currently three vacancies following the resignation of Rhondda Whittaker, and the disqualification of Sarah Wilson and Shelley Webber.

Now, with three applications already being submitted to the community council clerk, those individuals would become new representatives for Sealand providing nobody else applies before the deadline on February 28.

However, if more applications are submitted between now and then and co-option is required, the ten presently serving councillors will vote for their three preferred choices to join Sealand Community Council on March 16.

Anybody interested in becoming a new community leader of Sealand must send a letter of application to the council clerk.

The application letter should explain why you want to apply, why you would be good for the role, and include a section describing yourself.

Current councillors will then have the chance to look over any applications that are sent in before voting for their three ideal candidates at their next meeting which will take place at Sealand Primary School.

Council Chair, Cllr Barbara Hinds, will head the vote which will also involve councillors Jean Fairbrother, Bob James, Christine Jones, Norman Jones, Mikael Khan, Alex Lewis, Mike Walker, Mary Southall, and David Wisinger.

This method to determine the next three community councillors for Sealand comes after the deadline to call a local election passed on January 16 without anybody putting themselves forward for the position to trigger an election in the area.

To apply to become a new community councillor for Sealand, send your letter of application to the council clerk, Peter Richmond, by email on: