THE Flintshire Record Office received a new set of published volumes from the Royal Welch Fusiliers Comrades Association (RWFCA) recently.

The Shotton and Deeside branch of the RWFCA visited the Record Office at The Old Rectory in Hawarden to deposit a set of eight published volumes.

As well as handing over the volumes – titled ‘Regimental Records of the Royal Welch Fusiliers’ – the group also gifted a copy of the history of the regiment which was signed by RWFCA officers.

Claire Harrington, Flintshire County Council’s Principal Archivist, said:

“It was an honour to welcome the members of the RWFCA to the Record Office and a privilege to accept their generous donation of the Regimental Records.

“Their donation will be kept in the archives allowing future generations to read the fascinating history of one of the oldest regiments in the British Army.”

The Royal Welch Fusiliers was formed in 1689 and primarily recruited people from across North Wales.

Thirteen years after its inception, it became one of the earliest regiments to be honoured with a fusilier title, becoming known as The Welch Regiment of Fuzilieers.

Due to being one of the oldest regiments in the Army, the group used the archaic spelling of the word 'Welch' instead of 'Welsh', before being merged into The Royal Welsh in 2006.

The Flintshire Record Office at The Old Rectory in Hawarden will be holding an ‘Open Doors’ event on September 21 which will allow people to take a unique, behind-the-scenes tour of the historic building.