Council leader among 10 councillors to leave Labour party


Staff reporter (Leader Live)

THE Leader of Wrexham Council is among a group of 10 councillors to leave the Labour party.

Cllrs Neil Rogers, Michael Williams, David Griffiths, Bernie McCann, I David Bithell, Geoff Lowe, Malcolm Taylor, Barbara Roxburgh, Steve Wilson, and Andy Williams issued a joint statement describing their position in the group as “untenable”.

The statement said: “Today our position in the Labour Group has become untenable. Regrettably, it leaves us with no alternative but to leave the Labour Party. For many of us it is a very sad day.

“However, we cannot continue to be negatively influenced within the Labour Group on issues that affect the lives of the people of Wrexham. We have informed the Labour Whip and Chair of our decision today.”

More in Thursday's edition of the Leader.

See full story in the Leader

Leave your comment

Share your opinions on

Characters left: 1500

Most Read