Candidates for the 2017 General Election have now been announced.

The closing date for nominations was 4pm on Thursday and there were no surprises in our region.

Wrexham and Clwyd South candidates have been declared for the hustings on June 8.

In Wrexham Welsh Labour candidate Ian Lucas, who has held the seat since 2001, is being challenged by new Wrexham councillor Andrew Atkinson for the Welsh Conservatives, Carrie Harper for Plaid Cymru and Carole O’Toole for the Welsh Liberal Democrats.

In Clwyd South Welsh Labour candidate Susan Elan Jones is defending her seat in the face of challenges from Welsh Conservative Simon Baynes, Bruce Roberts from the Welsh Lib Dems, Chris Allen from Plaid Cymru and Ukip candidate Jeanette Bassford-Barton.

In Alyn and Deeside constituency Welsh Labour candidate Mark Tami will be challenged by Welsh Conservative Laura Knightly, who is trying to capture the seat from him for a second time, David Philip Griffiths for Ukip Wales, Jacqui Hurst for Plaid Cymru and Pete Williams for the Welsh Lib Dems.

And in Delyn Labour’s David Hanson, another long-serving Member of Parliament, will go up against Matt Wright from the Welsh Tories, Tom Rippeth from the Welsh Lib Dems and Paul Rowlinson from Plaid Cymru.