High-profile Wrexham Council leader Mark Pritchard was returned to the Guildhall with a thumping majority in yesterday’s local elections, easily winning his Esclusham ward seat.

But elsewhere across the county borough there was a changing of the guard with a number of long-serving elder statesmen and women councillors given the boot by the electorate.

Bob Dutton, who became a councillor many years ago after serving as chief executive of the former Wrexham Maelor Borough Council, lost out in Erddig ward.

Among others to lose their seats were Barbara Roberts, Barbara Roxburgh, Jim Kelly and Lloyd Kenyon.

Andrew Atkinson, who has high hopes of becoming the MP for Wrexham at the General Election, enjoyed a resounding victory in Gresford.

Overall, Independents kept a firm grip on control of the council.

For a full breakdown of the election results, see Friday's copy of The Leader