MARK Pritchard will continue in his role as Wrexham Council leader for another year.

A meeting of the full council at the Guildhall yesterday re-elected Cllr Pritchard as council leader and chairman of the executive board by a margin of 33 votes for, 11 against and three abstentions.

Cllr Hugh Jones was elected as deputy leader and vice-chairman of the executive by 33 votes for, 11 against and four abstentions.

Cllr Mike Davies - who had not voted for, against or abstained in the leadership vote – abstained along with the three Plaid Cymru members of the council.

The other members of the executive board were chosen as Cllrs William Baldwin, David A Bithell, Terry Evans, David Griffiths, David Kelly, Joan Lowe, Paul Rogers and Phil Wynn.

Board members’ portfolios have yet to be announced.

The vote was by a margin of 36 members for, none against and 11 abstaining.

Cllrs Dana Davies and Nigel Williams were unanimously elected to represent the council on the North Wales Police and Crime Panel.