INTERNATIONAL girl power is being recognised in this year’s Flintshire Sports Personality of the Year awards.

The county’s sporting stars will come together at Clwyd Theatr Cymru on Friday, March 4, for this year’s gala event which will honour the endeavours of nominated talents.

All three candidates in the Junior Sportswoman of the Year category, sponsored by the Bengal Dynasty, are 17-years-old and have proudly represented Wales in their favoured sport.

The first of the trio is Flint tae kwon do star Jade Jones, who has enjoyed international acclaim since becoming Britain’s first Youth Olympics gold medalist last summer in Singapore.

Her success story has continued since, with the former Flint High School pupil’s most recent efforts seeing her rewarded with gold and bronze medals in the World Tae kwon do Federation US Open in Texas.

Jade’s impact in Singapore was such that a special Pride of Flint Day was held in her honour last September, and she continues to eye possible glory at the London 2012 Olympics.

Ladies footballer Hannah Keryakoplis, of Penyffordd, has showcased her footballing talents at home and abroad.

Hannah has scored a staggering 13 times in just six qualifying games for the Wales under-17s and under-19s teams last year.

A former pupil at Castell Alun High School, Hope, Hannah is looking to break into the first-team at Liverpool, as a new and exciting Women’s Super League prepares to launch.

Completing the trilogy going for the top prize is netball starlet Elen Zachary, of Gwernaffield.

A pupil at Alun School, Mold, Elen is currently a member of the Wales under 19 squad preparing to compete in the European Netball Championships at Deeside Leisure Centre next month.

Her development has included a long spell playing for the very successful Mold Swifts side, as well as turning out in the highly competitive Manchester League.

Elen’s love of the sport has been demonstrated by her completing coaching and umpiring awards, and earning a reputation at Mold Netball Club for being reliable and dedicated.

There are 10 categories in this year’s awards, with the event sponsored by Airbus.