THE votes have been counted and today we can reveal that Wrexham FC’s Player of the Decade is Darren Ferguson.

As part of a poll the Leader launched at the beginning of the month, we asked readers to name their top three footballers who pulled on a shirt for the club at any point between January 1, 2000 and December 31, 2009.

By a considerable distance, Darren, currently manager of Championship side Preston North End, was named your favourite.

When contacted by the Leader after the votes were counted the 37-year-old described the accolade as ‘a great honour’.

He said: “There have been some really good players who have played at Wrexham over the last decade. I had some great times there, it is a really good football club and I’m privileged to be given it.

“Like I say I’ve played with some very good players there and to be voted player of the decade is fantastic.

“When I was there we got promotion, we won the LDV. It is sad to see the situation that they are in now and I’m hoping that they get back up with Dean in charge.

“But I had a really good time, worked under some really good managers – Brian Flynn, Denis Smith – and you don’t stay at a club for eight years if you didn’t enjoy it and I wish them all the best. It’s a real privilege and I’m really delighted with it.”

Sir Alex’s son started his career at Manchester Utd where he made his first team debut in 1990.

Three years later he was transferred to Wolverhampton Wanderers, where he spent a further five years before signing for Dutch side Sparta Rotterdam.

Soon after came the move to Wrexham, where he made more than 300 appearances in eight years, scoring over 50 goals and helping the club win promotion to the then Division Two in 2003.

He also won the Football League Trophy – also known as the LDV Vans Trophy – after scoring the second goal in a 2–0 win over Southend United in 2005 at Cardiff’s Millennium Stadium.

Well clear in our poll in second place was Carlos Edwards, the Trinidadian who was also integral part of the 2003 promotion side.

Third place was a tie between long-serving Brian Carey and mercurial goal scorer Lee Trundle.

Your top 10

1. Darren Ferguson
2. Carlos Edwards
3. Lee Trundle
4. Brian Carey
5. Andy Morrell
6. Juan Ugarte
7. Dennis Lawrence
8. Andy Dibble
9. Andy Holt
10. Mark Jones